What private school costs in Texas (2026-27)
We have read published tuition on 94 Texas private school websites. The middle price is $15,690 a year, using each school's lowest published full-year rate, and prices run from $3,400 to $41,290.
By grade band
| Grades | Median published tuition | Schools | Lowest to highest |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten to grade 5 | $14,760 | 77 | $3,400 to $36,226 |
| Grades 6 to 8 | $17,495 | 80 | $3,400 to $41,290 |
| Grades 9 to 12 | $18,920 | 69 | $3,500 to $40,894 |
A grade band is shown when at least 3 schools publish a price for it. Where a school lists several prices in one band, we take the lowest full-year day rate.
What is left to pay after the state award
TEFA pays $10,474 per private school student for 2026-27. More for students with disabilities; $2,000 for homeschooled students.
| Grades | Median published tuition | Award | Left to pay at the median |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kindergarten to grade 5 | $14,760 | $10,474 | $4,286 |
| Grades 6 to 8 | $17,495 | $10,474 | $7,021 |
| Grades 9 to 12 | $18,920 | $10,474 | $8,446 |
"Left to pay" is the median price minus the award, for a student who gets the award. It leaves out fees, books, uniforms and any aid the school gives.
Texas Education Freedom Accounts: who can get it and how to apply
By affiliation
| Affiliation | Schools | Median lowest rate | K to 5 | 6 to 8 | 9 to 12 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Catholic | 21 | $15,000 | $13,341 (10) | $14,160 (12) | $19,850 (14) |
| Other Christian | 50 | $14,489 | $13,838 (46) | $17,500 (47) | $16,200 (39) |
| Nonsectarian | 17 | $22,763 | $24,007 (16) | $29,100 (15) | $33,600 (10) |
| Other faiths | 6 | $8,250 | $8,000 (5) | $8,250 (6) | $8,250 (6) |
Groups with at least 5 verified schools. Band medians show the number of schools in brackets; "too few" means under 3. Affiliation comes from the federal Private School Universe survey (2023-24).
Compared with public school spending
Texas's public schools spent $12,895 per student in fiscal year 2024 (U.S. Census Bureau). The median published private tuition above ($15,690) is 122% of that figure.
- Public spending is not a price. It is total current spending on public schools (teachers, staff, upkeep, transport, meals and more) divided by enrolled students. No family pays it, and it leaves out building construction and debt.
- The years differ. Public spending is for the 2023-24 school year, the latest the Census Bureau has published; tuition is mostly for 2026-27. Neither is adjusted for inflation.
Source: U.S. Census Bureau, 2024 Annual Survey of School System Finances, Table 8, total current spending per pupil. Every state side by side: private tuition vs public school spending.
By city
| City | Median lowest rate | Schools | Lowest to highest |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dallas | $18,970 | 20 | $3,400 to $41,290 |
| Houston | $26,383 | 18 | $6,500 to $38,530 |
| Austin | $14,464 | 10 | $8,500 to $31,530 |
| San Antonio | $14,475 | 8 | $8,724 to $35,574 |
| Fort Worth | $24,455 | 4 | $13,090 to $31,625 |
| Katy | $17,011 | 4 | $7,300 to $36,950 |
| Irving | $8,000 | 3 | $6,950 to $10,400 |
| Waco | $13,600 | 3 | $10,400 to $18,270 |
Cities with at least 3 verified schools in the town itself. Each city page lists every school nearby.
Every Texas school with verified tuition
| School | City | Published tuition | Year |
|---|---|---|---|
| Austin Peace Academy | Austin | $8,500 | not stated |
| Brentwood Christian School | Austin | $12,510 to $14,055 | 2026-27 |
| Holy Family Catholic School | Austin | $9,815 | 2026-27 |
| Hyde Park Schools | Austin | $19,390 to $29,740 | 2026-27 |
| Redeemer Lutheran School | Austin | $11,750 to $12,150 | 2026-27 |
| Regents School of Austin | Austin | $14,928 to $23,822 | 2026-27 |
| St. Dominic Savio Catholic High School | Austin | $15,464 | 2026-27 |
| St. Francis School | Austin | $14,000 to $16,150 | 2026-27 |
| St. Gabriel's Catholic School | Austin | $25,910 to $31,530 | 2026-27 |
| The Magellan International School | Austin | $22,500 to $25,150 | 2026-27 |
| Harvest Christian Academy, Lantana Campus | Bartonville | $10,250 to $12,300 | 2026-27 |
| Episcopal High School Bellaire | Bellaire | $38,100 | 2026-27 |
| Providence Preparatory School | Belton | $5,072 to $6,535 | 2026-27 |
| Geneva School of Boerne | Boerne | $16,965 to $18,360 | 2026-27 |
| St. Joseph Academy | Brownsville | $13,320 | 2026-27 |
| Brazos Christian School | Bryan | $11,900 to $16,200 | 2026-27 |
| Prince of Peace Christian School | Carrollton | $18,900 to $23,900 | 2026-27 |
| Alcuin School | Dallas | $36,226 to $41,290 | 2026-27 |
| Bishop Dunne Catholic School | Dallas | $15,800 to $19,200 | not stated |
| Bishop Lynch High School | Dallas | $26,900 | 2026-27 |
| Classical School of Dallas | Dallas | $5,710 to $7,370 | 2026-27 |
| Dallas Lutheran School | Dallas | $18,850 to $21,600 | 2025-26 |
| First Baptist Academy of Dallas | Dallas | $11,400 to $15,400 | not stated |
| Good Shepherd Episcopal School | Dallas | $29,600 | 2026-27 |
| Lakehill Preparatory School | Dallas | $25,250 to $31,350 | 2026-27 |
| Lakewood Presbyterian School | Dallas | $5,400 | 2026-27 |
| New Life Christian Academy | Dallas | $3,400 to $3,500 | not stated |
| Our Redeemer Lutheran School | Dallas | $17,170 to $17,490 | 2026-27 |
| Providence Christian School | Dallas | $23,925 to $26,400 | 2026-27 |
| Scofield Christian School | Dallas | $14,000 | 2026-27 |
| St. Patrick Catholic School | Dallas | $15,000 | 2026-27 |
| St. Rita Catholic School | Dallas | $19,090 to $19,190 | 2026-27 |
| St. Thomas Aquinas Catholic School | Dallas | $14,760 to $15,050 | 2026-27 |
| The Cambridge School of Dallas | Dallas | $26,400 to $31,150 | 2026-27 |
| The Hockaday School | Dallas | $34,466 to $40,894 | 2026-27 |
| The Lamplighter School | Dallas | $33,420 | 2026-27 |
| The Westwood School | Dallas | $21,025 to $25,195 | 2026-27 |
| Cathedral High School | El Paso | $9,000 | 2026-27 |
| Loretto Academy | El Paso | $8,810 to $9,275 | 2026-27 |
| All Saints' Episcopal School of Fort Worth | Fort Worth | $28,410 to $31,130 | 2026-27 |
| Lake Country Christian School | Fort Worth | $13,090 to $18,920 | 2026-27 |
| Nolan Catholic High School | Fort Worth | $20,500 | 2027-28 |
| Trinity Valley School | Fort Worth | $29,450 to $31,625 | 2026-27 |
| Red Comet | Frisco | $8,900 | 2026-27 |
| Al Hadi School | Houston | $6,500 to $7,100 | 2026-27 |
| Annunciation Orthodox School | Houston | $30,830 to $36,130 | 2026-27 |
| Cristo Rey Jesuit College Prep School of Houston | Houston | $8,000 | not stated |
| Cypress Christian School | Houston | $19,645 to $24,810 | 2026-27 |
| Duchesne Academy of the Sacred Heart | Houston | $28,000 to $33,600 | 2026-27 |
| Grace School, Houston | Houston | $23,230 to $26,850 | 2026-27 |
| Houston Christian High School | Houston | $33,880 | 2026-27 |
| Presbyterian School | Houston | $28,410 to $33,790 | 2026-27 |
| River Oaks Baptist School | Houston | $28,320 to $32,145 | 2026-27 |
| St. Elizabeth Ann Seton Catholic School | Houston | $10,854 | 2025-26 |
| St. Francis Episcopal School | Houston | $31,593 to $36,999 | 2026-27 |
| St. Johns School | Houston | $32,125 to $38,530 | 2026-27 |
| St. Pius X High School | Houston | $22,850 | 2026-27 |
| St. Thomas Episcopal School | Houston | $24,765 to $32,970 | 2026-27 |
| Strake Jesuit College Prep School | Houston | $29,970 | 2026-27 |
| The Emery/Weiner School | Houston | $31,208 to $37,639 | 2026-27 |
| The Saint Constantine School | Houston | $16,500 to $17,225 | 2026-27 |
| Westbury Christian School | Houston | $17,500 to $24,000 | 2026-27 |
| Islamic School of Irving | Irving | $6,950 to $7,590 | 2026-27 |
| Radiant STEM Academy | Irving | $8,000 | 2026-27 |
| Redeemer Montessori School | Irving | $10,000 to $10,400 | 2026-27 |
| British International School of Houston | Katy | $31,975 to $36,950 | 2026-27 |
| Epiphany of the Lord Catholic School | Katy | $11,921 | 2026-27 |
| Katy Christian Academy | Katy | $7,300 | 2026-27 |
| St. John XXIII College Prreparatory | Katy | $22,100 | 2026-27 |
| Harvest Christian Academy | Keller | $13,675 to $15,655 | 2026-27 |
| Bay Area Christian School | League City | $11,860 to $14,850 | 2026-27 |
| Lubbock Christian School | Lubbock | $8,700 to $12,300 | 2026-27 |
| Faith Academy of Marble Falls | Marble Falls | $6,775 to $11,800 | 2026-27 |
| Trinity School | Midland | $20,100 to $24,600 | not stated |
| Fort Worth Christian School | North Richland Hills | $15,580 to $24,830 | 2026-27 |
| Coram Deo Academy of Collin County | Plano | $8,025 to $11,935 | 2026-27 |
| Round Rock Christian Academy | Round Rock | $11,025 to $12,475 | 2026-27 |
| Central Catholic High School -San Antonio | San Antonio | $14,900 | 2025-26 |
| Cornerstone Christian Schools | San Antonio | $12,660 | 2026-27 |
| Holy Spirit Catholic School | San Antonio | $8,724 | 2026-27 |
| St. George Episcopal School | San Antonio | $14,050 to $18,050 | 2026-27 |
| St. Mary's Hall | San Antonio | $22,763 to $35,574 | 2026-27 |
| The Christian School at Castle Hills | San Antonio | $10,584 to $11,928 | 2026-27 |
| The Montessori School of San Antonio | San Antonio | $18,170 to $20,428 | 2026-27 |
| Tmi Episcopal | San Antonio | $29,455 to $33,000 | 2026-27 |
| Providence Classical School | Spring | $13,490 to $19,225 | 2026-27 |
| Central Texas Christian School | Temple | $11,000 to $12,875 | 2026-27 |
| Legacy Preparatory Christian Academy | The Woodlands | $8,110 to $14,560 | 2026-27 |
| The John Cooper School | The Woodlands | $32,300 to $36,240 | 2026-27 |
| Rosehill Christian School | Tomball | $17,000 to $22,000 | 2026-27 |
| Live Oak Classical School | Waco | $13,600 to $16,000 | 2026-27 |
| Vanguard College Preparatory School | Waco | $18,270 | 2026-27 |
| Waco Montessori School | Waco | $10,400 | 2026-27 |
| Trinity Episcopal School of Austin | West Lake Hills | $32,625 to $35,175 | 2025-26 |
Ranges run from the lowest to the highest grade band the school publishes. Each school's page links the source we read.
Read this before you quote it
- This is not a random sample. We started with the largest schools and the schools families already search for, so large, established schools are over-represented. Treat the medians as "what these schools publish", not as the average for every private school in Texas.
- These are published prices before financial aid. Required fees, books, uniforms and transport are extra, and many schools lower the price through aid.
- Many schools do not publish a price, and those are missing here. School years: 83 for 2026-27, 6 for not stated, 4 for 2025-26, 1 for 2027-28.
- Each figure was read on the school's own website or tuition sheet, and a script re-opened that page and kept the figure only if the same dollar amount appears on it. Most recent check: .
Every state, with a free CSV of all figures and sources: private school tuition by state. A school whose price has changed can send us the new figure.
Questions parents ask
How much is private school in Texas?
Among the 94 Texas private schools whose published tuition we verified, the middle price is $15,690 a year, using each school's lowest published full-year rate. By grade: $14,760 for kindergarten to grade 5 (77 schools), $17,495 for grades 6 to 8 (80 schools), $18,920 for grades 9 to 12 (69 schools). Prices run from $3,400 to $41,290 a year, before financial aid, and fees are extra.
Does private high school cost more than elementary school in Texas?
Among the schools we verified, yes: the median high school price is $18,920 (69 schools), against $14,760 for kindergarten to grade 5 (77 schools).
How much does the state pay toward private school in Texas?
TEFA pays $10,474 per private school student for 2026-27. For kindergarten to grade 5, the median published price of $14,760 less the Education Freedom Account (TEFA) award leaves about $4,286 a year, before fees and any school aid.
Are Catholic schools cheaper than other private schools in Texas?
It depends on the comparison. Among the schools we verified: the median Catholic school price is $15,000 (21 schools), against $14,489 for other Christian schools (50), $22,763 for nonsectarian schools (17) and $8,250 for schools of other faiths (6), using each school's lowest published rate.
More
Tuition in other states (at least 12 verified schools): Alabama, Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin.