ChoiceFunded Search

St. John XXIII College Preparatory

1800 W Grand Pkwy N, Katy, TX 77449Open, per Google (checked Sep 20, 2026)

Key facts

Tuition, 2026-27
$22,100
Grades
9-12
Students (K-12)
432
Students per teacher
11.3
Affiliation
Roman Catholic
From Katy center
4.2 miles

All school facts and where they come from

Can you use TEFA here?

✓ On the official Texas Education Freedom Accounts list
State list
Includes this school
Applying
The 2026-27 application window ran February 4 to March 31, 2026: it first closed March 17 and was extended to March 31 (the Comptroller’s home page; its Families page still shows March 17). No 2027-28 dates are posted yet; the state offers an interest list for updates.

Source: the official list, dated October 26, 2026.

What you would pay here

Tuition
$22,100 (grades 9 to 12, 2026-27)
Award
about $10,474
Left to pay
about $11,626, before fees

School facts

Teachers
40
Student body
Coeducational
Diocese
Diocese of Galveston-Houston, TX
Boys and girls
44% boys, 56% girls
Go on to a 4-year college
100%
Setting
City

Where this comes from. Something wrong? Tell us and we will fix it.

Students and school year

Enrollment over time

436 2019-20 408 2021-22 432 2023-24
2019-20 to 2023-24
436 to 432, down 4 (1%)
Path
Dipped to 408 in 2021-22, then recovered part of the way

Students by grade, 2023-24

124 9 96 10 104 11 108 12
Largest grade
Grade 9 (124)
Smallest grade
Grade 10 (96)
Average a grade
About 108

The school year

Days in the school year
189
Length of the school day
7 hours
Hours of school a year
about 1,320
Classes, 2023-24
In person
Library or media center
Yes
Year, against Texas
13 days longer than the 176-day median of 1,203 schools we list
School day, against Texas
15 minutes shorter than the median of 7 hours 15 minutes (1,252 schools we list)

How it compares

This school 11.3 TX median 10.1
Students per teacher
This school 432 County median 159
Students vs county median
Students per teacher
11.3 here; median 10.1 at 66 TX secondary schools
Size in Harris County
Larger than 142 of 168 other schools we list

Student body, 2023-24

White 50% Hispanic 35% Asian 8% Two or more races 4% Black 3% American Indian under 1% Pacific Islander under 1%

Shares of K-12 students by race and ethnicity, as NCES reports them.

St. John XXIII College Preparatory tuition, and what TEFA pays

Grades 9 to 12, 2026-27
$22,100

Tuition $22,100; new student enrollment fee $500.

What is left after the award: worked out at the top of this page.

Tuition from St. John XXIII College Preparatory's website, checked October 5, 2026.

Texas Education Freedom Accounts Education savings account
Award
$10,474 per private school student for 2026-27
How it varies
More for students with disabilities; $2,000 for homeschooled students.

Figures read from each program’s official pages, October 8, 2026. Sources and how to apply

What would you pay at St. John XXIII College Preparatory?

  • Tuition filled in: the lowest published price we list (grades 9 to 12, 2026-27).
  • Award filled in: the 2026-27 TEFA award for that grade band.
  • Change them for your child’s grade.
Ask the school
Whether its published 2026-27 tuition is still current; whether it still takes Education Freedom Account (TEFA) for 2026-27; its application deadline. More questions to ask

Tuition at nearby private schools

SchoolPublished tuitionYearMiles
British International School of Houston$31,975 to $36,9502026-272.1
Katy Christian Academy$7,3002026-272.5

Each figure was read on that school's own website. Ranges run from the lowest to the highest grade band.

Other private schools nearby

SchoolGradesStudentsPer teacherAffiliationMiles
Faith West AcademyPreK-123007.3Christian (nondenominational)1
Safari Kids Learning Center ✓K1212Nonsectarian2
British International School of Houston ✓PreK-129399.6Nonsectarian2
Guidepost Montessori at Katy ✓PreK-K10not reportedNonsectarian2
Katy Christian Academy ✓PreK-1298not reportedPentecostal3
Cross Point Preschool KatyPreK-Transitional K2426.7Lutheran Church (Missouri Synod)3
Katy Adventist Christian School ✓PreK-8237.7Seventh-Day Adventist3
Mirus Academy ✓8-12307Nonsectarian3

On the program’s official list Other private schools

No new TEFA application dates are posted yet. How TEFA works.

Run this school? Update this listing for free. School staff: add the official list badge to your website.

Call the school What you pay