Yellowstone Academy
3000 Trulley St., Houston, TX 77004Open, per Google (checked Oct 19, 2026)
Key facts
- Tuition, 2026-27
- $18,862
- Grades
- PreK-5
- Students (K-12)
- 215
- Students per teacher
- 8.6
- Affiliation
- Christian (nondenominational)
- From Houston center
- 3.9 miles
Can you use TEFA here?
✓ On the official Texas Education Freedom Accounts list
- State list
- Includes this school
- Applying
- The 2026-27 application window ran February 4 to March 31, 2026: it first closed March 17 and was extended to March 31 (the Comptroller’s home page; its Families page still shows March 17). No 2027-28 dates are posted yet; the state offers an interest list for updates.
Source: the official list, dated October 26, 2026.
What you would pay here
- Tuition
- $18,862 (K to 5, 2026-27)
- Award
- about $10,474
- Left to pay
- about $8,388, before fees
Award $10,474 Left to pay $8,388
- Tuition: the school’s website, checked October 11, 2026.
- Award: Texas Education Freedom Accounts, official site (Texas Comptroller), read October 9, 2026.
- Lowest listed grade band; fees and aid not included. Change the numbers
School facts
- Teachers
- 25
- Student body
- Coeducational
- Boys and girls
- 47% boys, 53% girls
- Setting
- City
- School facts, kindergarten to grade 12: U.S. Department of Education, NCES Private School Survey 2023-24, read September 20, 2026.
Where this comes from. Something wrong? Tell us and we will fix it.
Students and school year
Enrollment over time
- 2019-20 to 2023-24
- 157 to 215, up 58 (37%)
- Path
- Grew in each survey (189 in 2021-22)
Students by grade, 2023-24 (pre-K is not in the K-12 count)
- Largest grade
- Grade 2 and grade 4 (45 each)
- Smallest grade
- Grade 3 (40)
- Average a grade
- About 43
The school year
- Days in the school year
- 172
- Length of the school day
- 7 hours 15 minutes
- Hours of school a year
- about 1,250
- Classes, 2023-24
- In person
- Library or media center
- Yes
- Year, against Texas
- 4 days shorter than the 176-day median of 1,203 schools we list
- School day, against Texas
- About the median of 7 hours 15 minutes (1,252 schools we list)
How it compares
- Students per teacher
- 8.6 here; median 8.1 at 474 TX elementary schools
- Size in Harris County
- Larger than 103 of 168 other schools we list
Student body, 2023-24
Shares of K-12 students by race and ethnicity, as NCES reports them.
- Grades, school year and student body: U.S. Department of Education, NCES Private School Survey 2023-24, read September 20, 2026.
- Earlier counts: NCES Private School Survey 2019-20 and 2021-22, read October 14, 2026.
- Comparisons: the private schools ChoiceFunded lists, as of this page’s last update.
Yellowstone Academy tuition, and what TEFA pays
- Grades K to 5, 2026-27
- $18,862
What is left after the award: worked out at the top of this page.
Tuition from Yellowstone Academy's website, checked October 11, 2026.
Texas Education Freedom Accounts Education savings account
- Award
- $10,474 per private school student for 2026-27
- How it varies
- More for students with disabilities; $2,000 for homeschooled students.
Figures read from each program’s official pages, October 8, 2026. Sources and how to apply
What would you pay at Yellowstone Academy?
Use $0 or more.
Tuition and fees TEFA pays You pay per year Spread over 10 months
- Tuition filled in: the lowest published price we list (K to 5, 2026-27).
- Award filled in: the 2026-27 TEFA award for that grade band.
- Change them for your child’s grade.
- Ask the school
- Whether its published 2026-27 tuition is still current; whether it still takes Education Freedom Account (TEFA) for 2026-27; its application deadline. More questions to ask
Other private schools nearby
| School | Grades | Students | Miles |
|---|---|---|---|
| Incarnate Word Academy ✓ | 9-12 | 248 | 1 |
| Wheeler Avenue Christian Academy | PreK-K | 6 | 1 |
| St. Mary of the Purification Catholic School ✓ | PreK-5 | 90 | 1 |
| Cathedral House Episcipol School | PreK-Transitional K | 13 | 2 |
| Community Preschools at Eastex ✓ | PreK-2 | not reported | 2 |
| Montessori School Downtown ✓ | K-2 | 17 | 2 |
| Our Lady of Guadalupe School ✓ | PreK-8 | 195 | 2 |
| Elderflower Montessori ✓ | K-6 | not reported | 2 |
On the program’s official list Other private schools
Keep looking
- All private schools near Houston
- Christian schools in Texas
- Private elementary schools in Texas
- Private schools with kindergarten in Texas
- Private schools with pre-K in Texas
- Private schools in Harris County
- Texas Education Freedom Accounts: amount and eligibility
- All Texas Education Freedom Accounts schools
No new TEFA application dates are posted yet. How TEFA works.
Run this school? Update this listing for free. School staff: add the official list badge to your website.