ChoiceFunded Search

Covenant Christian Academy

4201 N Ware Rd, McAllen, TX 78504Open, per Google (checked Sep 20, 2026)

Key facts

Tuition, 2026-27
From $7,625
Grades
PreK-10
Students (K-12)
307
Students per teacher
13.3
Affiliation
Christian (nondenominational)
From McAllen center
1.6 miles

All school facts and where they come from

Can you use TEFA here?

✓ On the official Texas Education Freedom Accounts list
State list
Includes this school
Applying
The 2026-27 application window ran February 4 to March 31, 2026: it first closed March 17 and was extended to March 31 (the Comptroller’s home page; its Families page still shows March 17). No 2027-28 dates are posted yet; the state offers an interest list for updates.

Source: the official list, dated October 26, 2026.

What you would pay here

Tuition
$7,625 (K to 5, 2026-27)
Award
about $10,474
Left to pay
about $0: the award covers the full listed price, before fees

School facts

Teachers
23
Student body
Coeducational
Boys and girls
47% boys, 53% girls
Setting
City
Member of
Association of Christian Schools International

Where this comes from. Something wrong? Tell us and we will fix it.

Students and school year

Enrollment over time

245 2019-20 243 2021-22 307 2023-24
2019-20 to 2023-24
245 to 307, up 62 (25%)
Path
Dipped to 243 in 2021-22, then passed its earlier level

Students by grade, 2023-24 (pre-K is not in the K-12 count)

85 PK 31 K 34 1 38 2 37 3 39 4 35 5 29 6 18 7 20 8 14 9 12 10
Largest grade
Grade 4 (39)
Smallest grade
Grade 10 (12)
Across the grades
Classes thin out toward the upper grades
High school grades
Average 13; lower grades 31

The school year

Days in the school year
172
Length of the school day
7 hours 50 minutes
Hours of school a year
about 1,350
Kindergarten
Full day, 5 days a week
Classes, 2023-24
In person
Library or media center
Yes
Year, against Texas
4 days shorter than the 176-day median of 1,203 schools we list
School day, against Texas
35 minutes longer than the median of 7 hours 15 minutes (1,252 schools we list)

How it compares

This school 13.3 TX median 8.5
Students per teacher
This school 307 County median 87
Students vs county median
Students per teacher
13.3 here; median 8.5 at 383 TX combined schools
Size in Hidalgo County
Largest of the 18 schools we list

Student body, 2023-24

Hispanic 67% White 27% Asian 3% Black 2% Pacific Islander 1% American Indian under 1% Two or more races under 1%

Shares of K-12 students by race and ethnicity, as NCES reports them.

Covenant Christian Academy tuition, and what TEFA pays

Grades K to 5, 2026-27
$7,625
Grades 6 to 8, 2026-27
$7,725
Grades 9 to 12, 2026-27
$7,725

Elementary tuition is $7,625 and middle and high school $7,725; preschool is $7,500.

What is left after the award: worked out at the top of this page.

Tuition from Covenant Christian Academy's tuition sheet, checked October 6, 2026.

Texas Education Freedom Accounts Education savings account
Award
$10,474 per private school student for 2026-27
How it varies
More for students with disabilities; $2,000 for homeschooled students.

Figures read from each program’s official pages, October 8, 2026. Sources and how to apply

What would you pay at Covenant Christian Academy?

  • Tuition filled in: the lowest published price we list (K to 5, 2026-27).
  • Award filled in: the 2026-27 TEFA award for that grade band.
  • Change them for your child’s grade.
Ask the school
Whether its published 2026-27 tuition is still current; whether it still takes Education Freedom Account (TEFA) for 2026-27; its application deadline. More questions to ask

Covenant Christian Academy admissions

Deadline
Not given on the admissions page we checked

Applications for 2026-27 are open; after an online application the school schedules an entrance test and interview.

Source: school website, checked October 6, 2026. Dates can change, so confirm them with the admissions office. Other schools' application deadlines.

Other private schools nearby

SchoolGradesStudentsPer teacherAffiliationMiles
South Texas Christian Academy ✓PreK-1221211.8Seventh-Day Adventist2
St. Johns Episcopal Day School ✓PreK-722612.6Episcopal2
Our Lady of Sorrows School ✓PreK-8not reportednot reportednot reported3
St. Paul Lutheran School ✓PreK-8887.7Lutheran Church (Missouri Synod)3
Kids Village Montessori LrnngPreK-K1212Christian (nondenominational)3
The Learning Journey Day School ✓On the state list; not in the federal survey4
The Discovery School ✓PreK-6673.5Nonsectarian4
Harvest Christian Academy ✓PreK-1223717.2Christian (nondenominational)5

On the program’s official list Other private schools

No new TEFA application dates are posted yet. How TEFA works.

Run this school? Update this listing for free. School staff: add the official list badge to your website.

Call the school What you pay