ChoiceFunded What your state pays

Private middle schools in Texas

757 statewide. 552 are on the state’s TEFA list. Private schools that teach any of grades 6, 7 or 8, going by the grade span each school gave the 2023-24 federal survey. Many also teach elementary or high school grades.

By city

The 40 largest

SchoolCityGradesStudentsPer teacherAffiliation
Cornerstone Christian Schools ✓San AntonioPreK-122,09814.4Christian (nondenominational)
Red Comet ✓FriscoK-122,014not reportedNonsectarian
Prestonwood Christian AcademyPlanoPreK-121,94511.9Christian (nondenominational)
The Village School ✓HoustonPreK-121,56510.5Nonsectarian
Prestonwood Christian Academy OnlinePlanoPreK-121,53513.5Christian (nondenominational)
St. Johns SchoolHoustonK-121,4239.3Nonsectarian
The Kinkaid SchoolHoustonPreK-121,4218.6Nonsectarian
The John Cooper SchoolThe WoodlandsPreK-121,2999.4Nonsectarian
Liberty Christian School ✓ArgylePreK-121,1839.3Other religious
Episcopal School of Dallas Pk-12DallasPreK-121,1174.9Episcopal
Parish Episcopal SchoolDallasPreK-121,1158.8Episcopal
Second Baptist SchoolHoustonPreK-121,10010.1Baptist
Nobis PacemSan AntonioPreK-121,09121Roman Catholic
The Hockaday SchoolDallasPreK-121,0908.8Nonsectarian, all-girls
All Saints' Episcopal School of Fort WorthFort WorthPreK-121,08711.6Episcopal
Shelton School ✓DallasPreK-121,0826.4Nonsectarian
Fort Worth Country DayFort WorthPreK-121,0798.7Nonsectarian
Regents School of AustinAustinK-121,0739.7Christian (nondenominational)
Grace Community School ✓TylerPreK-121,0019.6Christian (nondenominational)
Trinity Valley SchoolFort WorthPreK-129979.3Nonsectarian
British International School of Houston ✓KatyPreK-129399.6Nonsectarian
Southwest Christian Scho0lFort WorthPreK-128979.3Christian (nondenominational)
Southwest Christian School ✓Fort WorthPreK-128969.9Christian (nondenominational)
Bay Area Christian School ✓League CityK-1289512.7Christian (nondenominational)
San Antonio Christian School ✓San AntonioPreK-12878not reportedChristian (nondenominational)
St. Gabriel's Catholic SchoolAustinPreK-128737.9Roman Catholic
Cypress Christian SchoolHoustonK-1283012.3Christian (nondenominational)
Avvai Tamil CenterFriscoK-88147.1Nonsectarian
St. Thomas Aquinas Catholic School ✓DallasPreK-881213.8Roman Catholic
St. Francis Episcopal SchoolHoustonPreK-1280511.7Episcopal
River Oaks Baptist SchoolHoustonPreK-879911.6Baptist
The Brook Hill School ✓BullardPreK-1279310.9Christian (nondenominational)
The Woodlands Christian Academy ✓The WoodlandsPreK-127807.9Calvinist
Hyde Park Schools ✓AustinPreK-127638.5Baptist
Islamic School of Irving ✓IrvingPreK-127498.8Islamic
St. Rita Catholic School ✓DallasPreK-873111.2Roman Catholic
Trinity Christian School ✓LubbockPreK-127219.9Christian (nondenominational)
The Covenant SchoolDallasK-127178.4Christian (nondenominational)
The Covenant School of DallasDallasK-127148.4Christian (nondenominational)
Duchesne Academy of the Sacred HeartHoustonPreK-127138.1Roman Catholic, all-girls

What Texas pays

Texas Education Freedom Accounts Education savings account
$10,474 per private school student for 2026-27 More for students with disabilities; $2,000 for homeschooled students.

Figures read from each program’s official pages, October 2, 2026. Sources and how to apply

Get one email when applications open

Most programs open once a year, and several ran out of money or seats in 2026. Pick your state and we will email you the day the next window opens, with the official link. That is the only email you get.

One email per application window. No calls, no sharing your details.

What your state pays Find schools