ChoiceFunded Search

Shelton School

17301 Preston Rd, Dallas, TX 75252Open, per Google (checked Sep 20, 2026)

Key facts

Grades
PreK-12
Students (K-12)
1,082
Students per teacher
6.4
Affiliation
Nonsectarian
From Dallas center
13.7 miles

All school facts and where they come from

Can you use TEFA here?

✓ On the official Texas Education Freedom Accounts list
State list
Includes this school
Applying
The 2026-27 application window ran February 4 to March 31, 2026: it first closed March 17 and was extended to March 31 (the Comptroller’s home page; its Families page still shows March 17). No 2027-28 dates are posted yet; the state offers an interest list for updates.

Source: the official list, dated October 26, 2026.

What you would pay here

Net cost
Not worked out: no verified 2026-27 tuition yet. See the school’s tuition page

School facts

Teachers
170
Student body
Coeducational
Program
Special program emphasis
Boys and girls
58% boys, 42% girls
Go on to a 4-year college
89%
Setting
City
Member of
American Montessori Society

Where this comes from. Something wrong? Tell us and we will fix it.

Students and school year

Enrollment over time

929 2019-20 1,023 2021-22 1,082 2023-24
2019-20 to 2023-24
929 to 1,082, up 153 (16%)
Path
Grew in each survey (1,023 in 2021-22)

Students by grade, 2023-24 (pre-K is not in the K-12 count)

27 PK 20 K 35 1 45 2 62 3 92 4 100 5 109 6 123 7 127 8 88 9 98 10 104 11 79 12
Largest grade
Grade 8 (127)
Smallest grade
Kindergarten (20)
Across the grades
Classes fill up toward the upper grades
Average a grade, high school included
About 83

The school year

Days in the school year
169
Length of the school day
7 hours 40 minutes
Hours of school a year
about 1,300
Kindergarten
Full day, 5 days a week
Classes, 2023-24
In person
Library or media center
Yes
Year, against Texas
7 days shorter than the 176-day median of 1,203 schools we list
School day, against Texas
25 minutes longer than the median of 7 hours 15 minutes (1,252 schools we list)

How it compares

This school 6.4 TX median 8.5
Students per teacher
This school 1,082 County median 91
Students vs county median
Students per teacher
6.4 here; median 8.5 at 383 TX combined schools
Size in Collin County
Larger than 43 of 45 other schools we list

Student body, 2023-24

White 81% Hispanic 7% Two or more races 5% Black 4% Asian 2% American Indian under 1%

Shares of K-12 students by race and ethnicity, as NCES reports them.

Shelton School tuition, and what TEFA pays

Published tuition
On the school’s own tuition page (found October 11, 2026)
Texas Education Freedom Accounts Education savings account
Award
$10,474 per private school student for 2026-27
How it varies
More for students with disabilities; $2,000 for homeschooled students.

Figures read from each program’s official pages, October 8, 2026. Sources and how to apply

What would you pay at Shelton School?

Ask the school
Its full-year tuition and required fees; whether it still takes Education Freedom Account (TEFA) for 2026-27; its application deadline. More questions to ask

Other private schools nearby

SchoolGradesStudentsPer teacherAffiliationMiles
Texas Torah Institute ✓9-12465.8Jewish, all-boys<1
Fairhill School ✓1-121004.4Nonsectarian1
Queen of All Saints Academy ✓On the state list; not in the federal survey1
Torah Day School of Dallas ✓PreK-83506.9Jewish1
Brightspire Virtual School ✓On the state list; not in the federal survey1
Trinity Christian Academy Addison ✓PreK-12not reportednot reportednot reported2
My Foundations ✓PreK-2not reportednot reportednot reported2
New Hope Christian AcademyPreK-10672.5Christian (nondenominational)2

On the program’s official list Other private schools

No new TEFA application dates are posted yet. How TEFA works.

Run this school? Update this listing for free. School staff: add the official list badge to your website.

Call the school What you pay