ChoiceFunded Search

South Texas Christian Academy

7001 N Ware Rd, McAllen, TX 78504Open, per Google (checked Sep 20, 2026)

Key facts

Grades
PreK-12
Students (K-12)
212
Students per teacher
11.8
Affiliation
Seventh-Day Adventist
From McAllen center
3.1 miles

All school facts and where they come from

Can you use TEFA here?

✓ On the official Texas Education Freedom Accounts list
State list
Includes this school
Applying
The 2026-27 application window ran February 4 to March 31, 2026: it first closed March 17 and was extended to March 31 (the Comptroller’s home page; its Families page still shows March 17). No 2027-28 dates are posted yet; the state offers an interest list for updates.

Source: the official list, dated October 26, 2026.

What you would pay here

Net cost
Not worked out: no verified 2026-27 tuition yet. See the school’s tuition page

School facts

Teachers
18
Student body
Coeducational
Boys and girls
55% boys, 45% girls
Go on to a 4-year college
90%
Setting
City

Where this comes from. Something wrong? Tell us and we will fix it.

Students and school year

Enrollment over time

184 2021-22 212 2023-24
2021-22 to 2023-24
184 to 212, up 28 (15%)

Students by grade, 2023-24 (pre-K is not in the K-12 count)

11 PK 19 K 11 1 8 2 17 3 12 4 17 5 14 6 23 7 16 8 15 9 22 10 17 11 21 12
Largest grade
Grade 7 (23)
Smallest grade
Grade 2 (8)
Average a grade, high school included
About 16

The school year

Days in the school year
180
Length of the school day
8 hours
Hours of school a year
about 1,440
Kindergarten
Full day, 5 days a week
Classes, 2023-24
In person
Library or media center
Yes
Year, against Texas
4 days longer than the 176-day median of 1,203 schools we list
School day, against Texas
45 minutes longer than the median of 7 hours 15 minutes (1,252 schools we list)

How it compares

This school 11.8 TX median 8.5
Students per teacher
This school 212 County median 87
Students vs county median
Students per teacher
11.8 here; median 8.5 at 383 TX combined schools
Size in Hidalgo County
Larger than 14 of 17 other schools we list

Student body, 2023-24

Hispanic 89% Asian 7% Black 4% White under 1%

Shares of K-12 students by race and ethnicity, as NCES reports them.

South Texas Christian Academy tuition, and what TEFA pays

Published tuition
On the school’s own tuition page (found October 11, 2026)
Texas Education Freedom Accounts Education savings account
Award
$10,474 per private school student for 2026-27
How it varies
More for students with disabilities; $2,000 for homeschooled students.

Figures read from each program’s official pages, October 8, 2026. Sources and how to apply

What would you pay at South Texas Christian Academy?

Ask the school
Its full-year tuition and required fees; whether it still takes Education Freedom Account (TEFA) for 2026-27; its application deadline. More questions to ask

Other private schools nearby

SchoolGradesStudentsPer teacherAffiliationMiles
Covenant Christian Academy ✓PreK-1030713.3Christian (nondenominational)2
The Learning Journey Day School ✓On the state list; not in the federal survey3
Kids Village Montessori LrnngPreK-K1212Christian (nondenominational)3
St. Johns Episcopal Day School ✓PreK-722612.6Episcopal3
The Discovery School ✓PreK-6673.5Nonsectarian4
Harvest Christian Academy ✓PreK-1223717.2Christian (nondenominational)4
St. Paul Lutheran School ✓PreK-8887.7Lutheran Church (Missouri Synod)4
Our Lady of Sorrows School ✓PreK-8not reportednot reportednot reported4

On the program’s official list Other private schools

No new TEFA application dates are posted yet. How TEFA works.

Run this school? Update this listing for free. School staff: add the official list badge to your website.

Call the school What you pay