St. Helen Catholic School
2213 Old Alvin Rd, Pearland, TX 77581Open, per Google (checked Sep 20, 2026)
Key facts
- Tuition, 2026-27
- $8,974
- Grades
- PreK-8
- Students (K-12)
- 328
- Students per teacher
- 12.3
- Affiliation
- Roman Catholic
- From Pearland center
- 3.0 miles
Can you use TEFA here?
✓ On the official Texas Education Freedom Accounts list
- State list
- Includes this school
- Applying
- The 2026-27 application window ran February 4 to March 31, 2026: it first closed March 17 and was extended to March 31 (the Comptroller’s home page; its Families page still shows March 17). No 2027-28 dates are posted yet; the state offers an interest list for updates.
Source: the official list, dated October 26, 2026.
What you would pay here
- Tuition
- $8,974 (K to 5, 2026-27)
- Award
- about $10,474
- Left to pay
- about $0: the award covers the full listed price, before fees
Award $10,474 Left to pay $0
- Tuition: the school’s website, checked October 6, 2026.
- Award: Texas Education Freedom Accounts, official site (Texas Comptroller), read October 9, 2026.
- Lowest listed grade band; fees and aid not included. Change the numbers
School facts
- Teachers
- 28
- Student body
- Coeducational
- Diocese
- Diocese of Galveston-Houston, TX
- Boys and girls
- 42% boys, 58% girls
- Setting
- Suburb
- Member of
- National Catholic Educational Association
- School facts, kindergarten to grade 12: U.S. Department of Education, NCES Private School Survey 2023-24, read September 20, 2026.
Where this comes from. Something wrong? Tell us and we will fix it.
Students and school year
Enrollment over time
- 2019-20 to 2023-24
- 311 to 328, up 17 (5%)
- Path
- Dipped to 294 in 2021-22, then passed its earlier level
Students by grade, 2023-24 (pre-K is not in the K-12 count)
- Largest grade
- Kindergarten (53)
- Smallest grade
- Grade 7 (24)
- Across the grades
- Classes thin out toward the upper grades
The school year
- Days in the school year
- 180
- Length of the school day
- 7 hours 10 minutes
- Hours of school a year
- about 1,290
- Kindergarten
- Full day, 5 days a week
- Classes, 2023-24
- In person
- Library or media center
- Yes
- Year, against Texas
- 4 days longer than the 176-day median of 1,203 schools we list
- School day, against Texas
- About the median of 7 hours 15 minutes (1,252 schools we list)
How it compares
- Students per teacher
- 12.3 here; median 8.1 at 474 TX elementary schools
- Size in Brazoria County
- Largest of the 11 schools we list
Student body, 2023-24
Shares of K-12 students by race and ethnicity, as NCES reports them.
- Grades, school year and student body: U.S. Department of Education, NCES Private School Survey 2023-24, read September 20, 2026.
- Earlier counts: NCES Private School Survey 2019-20 and 2021-22, read October 14, 2026.
- Comparisons: the private schools ChoiceFunded lists, as of this page’s last update.
St. Helen Catholic School tuition, and what TEFA pays
- Grades K to 5, 2026-27
- $8,974
- Grades 6 to 8, 2026-27
- $8,974
- By grade
- Rates vary within these bands (details below)
What is left after the award: worked out at the top of this page.
Tuition from St. Helen Catholic School's website, checked October 6, 2026.
Texas Education Freedom Accounts Education savings account
- Award
- $10,474 per private school student for 2026-27
- How it varies
- More for students with disabilities; $2,000 for homeschooled students.
Figures read from each program’s official pages, October 8, 2026. Sources and how to apply
What would you pay at St. Helen Catholic School?
Use $0 or more.
Tuition and fees TEFA pays You pay per year Spread over 10 months
- Tuition filled in: the lowest published price we list (K to 5, 2026-27).
- Award filled in: the 2026-27 TEFA award for that grade band.
- Change them for your child’s grade.
- Ask the school
- Whether its published 2026-27 tuition is still current; whether it still takes Education Freedom Account (TEFA) for 2026-27; its application deadline. More questions to ask
Other private schools nearby
| School | Grades | Students | Miles |
|---|---|---|---|
| Methodist Childrens Program | PreK-K | 16 | <1 |
| Parkway Christian Academy ✓ | PreK-5 | 78 | 1 |
| Goudeau Accelerated Preparatory Academy ✓ | PreK-12 | not reported | 3 |
| Genesis Christian School ✓ | PreK-12 | 167 | 4 |
| Silverline Montessori - Silverlake Campus ✓ | K-5 | 77 | 4 |
| Friendswood Childrenss House | PreK-Transitional K | 31 | 5 |
| Transformation Christian Academy ✓ | K-12 | not reported | 5 |
| Lutheran South Academy Houston ✓ | PreK-12 | not reported | 5 |
On the program’s official list Other private schools
Keep looking
- All private schools near Pearland
- Catholic schools in Texas
- Private elementary schools in Texas
- Private middle schools in Texas
- Private schools with kindergarten in Texas
- Private schools with pre-K in Texas
- Private schools in Brazoria County
- Texas Education Freedom Accounts: amount and eligibility
- All Texas Education Freedom Accounts schools
No new TEFA application dates are posted yet. How TEFA works.
Run this school? Update this listing for free. School staff: add the official list badge to your website.