St. Joseph Academy
101 Saint Joseph Dr, Brownsville, TX 78520Open, per Google (checked Sep 20, 2026)
Key facts
- Tuition, 2026-27
- $13,320
- Grades
- 7-12
- Students (K-12)
- 460
- Students per teacher
- 6.7
- Affiliation
- Roman Catholic
- From Brownsville center
- 5.1 miles
Can you use TEFA here?
✓ On the official Texas Education Freedom Accounts list
- State list
- Includes this school
- Applying
- The 2026-27 application window ran February 4 to March 31, 2026: it first closed March 17 and was extended to March 31 (the Comptroller’s home page; its Families page still shows March 17). No 2027-28 dates are posted yet; the state offers an interest list for updates.
Source: the official list, dated October 26, 2026.
What you would pay here
- Tuition
- $13,320 (grades 6 to 8, 2026-27)
- Award
- about $10,474
- Left to pay
- about $2,846, before fees
Award $10,474 Left to pay $2,846
- Tuition: the school’s website, checked October 5, 2026.
- Award: Texas Education Freedom Accounts, official site (Texas Comptroller), read October 9, 2026.
- Lowest listed grade band; fees and aid not included. Change the numbers
School facts
- Teachers
- 69
- Student body
- Coeducational
- Diocese
- Diocese of Brownsville, TX
- Boys and girls
- 51% boys, 49% girls
- Go on to a 4-year college
- 100%
- Setting
- City
- School facts, kindergarten to grade 12: U.S. Department of Education, NCES Private School Survey 2023-24, read September 20, 2026.
Where this comes from. Something wrong? Tell us and we will fix it.
Students and school year
Enrollment over time
- 2019-20 to 2023-24
- 375 to 460, up 85 (23%)
- Path
- Grew in each survey (401 in 2021-22)
Students by grade, 2023-24
- Largest grade
- Grade 9 (85)
- Smallest grade
- Grade 8 (69)
- Average a grade, high school included
- About 77
The school year
- Days in the school year
- 180
- Length of the school day
- 7 hours
- Hours of school a year
- about 1,260
- Classes, 2023-24
- In person
- Library or media center
- Yes
- Year, against Texas
- 4 days longer than the 176-day median of 1,203 schools we list
- School day, against Texas
- 15 minutes shorter than the median of 7 hours 15 minutes (1,252 schools we list)
How it compares
- Students per teacher
- 6.7 here; median 10.1 at 66 TX secondary schools
- Size in Cameron County
- Largest of the 15 schools we list
Student body, 2023-24
Shares of K-12 students by race and ethnicity, as NCES reports them.
- Grades, school year and student body: U.S. Department of Education, NCES Private School Survey 2023-24, read September 20, 2026.
- Earlier counts: NCES Private School Survey 2019-20 and 2021-22, read October 14, 2026.
- Comparisons: the private schools ChoiceFunded lists, as of this page’s last update.
St. Joseph Academy tuition, and what TEFA pays
- Grades 6 to 8, 2026-27
- $13,320
- Grades 9 to 12, 2026-27
- $13,320
What is left after the award: worked out at the top of this page.
Tuition from St. Joseph Academy's website, checked October 5, 2026.
Texas Education Freedom Accounts Education savings account
- Award
- $10,474 per private school student for 2026-27
- How it varies
- More for students with disabilities; $2,000 for homeschooled students.
Figures read from each program’s official pages, October 8, 2026. Sources and how to apply
What would you pay at St. Joseph Academy?
Use $0 or more.
Tuition and fees TEFA pays You pay per year Spread over 10 months
- Tuition filled in: the lowest published price we list (grades 6 to 8, 2026-27).
- Award filled in: the 2026-27 TEFA award for that grade band.
- Change them for your child’s grade.
- Ask the school
- Whether its published 2026-27 tuition is still current; whether it still takes Education Freedom Account (TEFA) for 2026-27; its application deadline. More questions to ask
Other private schools nearby
| School | Grades | Students | Miles |
|---|---|---|---|
| First Baptist School ✓ | PreK-12 | not reported | <1 |
| Marias Montessori School | K-1 | 23 | <1 |
| Brownsville Montessori Academy | PreK-4 | 33 | <1 |
| Episcopal Day School ✓ | PreK-6 | 205 | <1 |
| Youthbuild Brownsville ✓ | 9-12 | not reported | <1 |
| St. Mary's Catholic School ✓ | PreK-6 | 396 | <1 |
| Guadalupe Regional Middle School ✓ | 6-8 | 56 | 1 |
| In the Presence of God Coram Deo Classical Academy | 2-12 | 20 | 1 |
On the program’s official list Other private schools
No new TEFA application dates are posted yet. How TEFA works.
Run this school? Update this listing for free. School staff: add the official list badge to your website.