Brownsville Montessori Academy
36 S Coria St., Brownsville, TX 78520Open, per Google (checked Sep 20, 2026)
Key facts
- Tuition
- Not published
- Grades
- PreK-4
- Students (K-12)
- 33
- Students per teacher
- 3.7
- Affiliation
- Nonsectarian
- From Brownsville center
- 4.9 miles
Can you use TEFA here?
Not on the TEFA list we read
- About the list
- How the TEFA list works
- Applying
- The 2026-27 application window ran February 4 to March 31, 2026: it first closed March 17 and was extended to March 31 (the Comptroller’s home page; its Families page still shows March 17). No 2027-28 dates are posted yet; the state offers an interest list for updates.
Source: TEFA official source, dated October 26, 2026.
School facts
- Teachers
- 11
- Student body
- Coeducational
- Program
- Montessori
- Boys and girls
- 55% boys, 45% girls
- Setting
- City
- Member of
- Association Montessori International
- School facts, kindergarten to grade 12: U.S. Department of Education, NCES Private School Survey 2023-24, read September 20, 2026.
Where this comes from. Something wrong? Tell us and we will fix it.
On its website
- School uniforms: brownsvillemontessori.com/admissions, read October 14, 2026.
- What Brownsville Montessori Academy says on brownsvillemontessori.com, read October 14, 2026.
Students and school year
Enrollment over time
- 2019-20 to 2023-24
- 18 to 33, up 15
- Path
- Peaked at 36 in 2021-22
Students by grade, 2023-24 (pre-K is not in the K-12 count)
- Largest grade
- Kindergarten (22)
- Smallest grade
- Grade 4 (1)
- Across the grades
- Classes thin out toward the upper grades
The school year
- Days in the school year
- 182
- Length of the school day
- 7 hours
- Hours of school a year
- about 1,270
- Kindergarten
- Full day, 5 days a week
- Classes, 2023-24
- In person
- Library or media center
- No
- Year, against Texas
- 6 days longer than the 176-day median of 1,203 schools we list
- School day, against Texas
- 15 minutes shorter than the median of 7 hours 15 minutes (1,252 schools we list)
How it compares
- Students per teacher
- 3.7 here; median 8.1 at 474 TX elementary schools
- Size in Cameron County
- Larger than 5 of 14 other schools we list
Student body, 2023-24
Shares of K-12 students by race and ethnicity, as NCES reports them.
- Grades, school year and student body: U.S. Department of Education, NCES Private School Survey 2023-24, read September 20, 2026.
- Earlier counts: NCES Private School Survey 2019-20 and 2021-22, read October 14, 2026.
- Comparisons: the private schools ChoiceFunded lists, as of this page’s last update.
Brownsville Montessori Academy tuition, and what TEFA pays
- Published tuition
- No verified figure yet. Check the school’s website
Texas Education Freedom Accounts Education savings account
- Award
- $10,474 per private school student for 2026-27
- How it varies
- More for students with disabilities; $2,000 for homeschooled students.
Figures read from each program’s official pages, October 8, 2026. Sources and how to apply
What would you pay at Brownsville Montessori Academy?
Use $0 or more.
Tuition and fees TEFA pays You pay per year Spread over 10 months
- Ask the school
- Its full-year tuition and required fees; whether it takes Education Freedom Account (TEFA); its application deadline. More questions to ask
Other private schools nearby
| School | Grades | Students | Miles |
|---|---|---|---|
| Episcopal Day School ✓ | PreK-6 | 205 | <1 |
| St. Joseph Academy ✓ | 7-12 | 460 | <1 |
| Marias Montessori School | K-1 | 23 | <1 |
| St. Mary's Catholic School ✓ | PreK-6 | 396 | <1 |
| First Baptist School ✓ | PreK-12 | not reported | <1 |
| In the Presence of God Coram Deo Classical Academy | 2-12 | 20 | 1 |
| Kenmont Montessori School ✓ | PreK-8 | 236 | 1 |
| Youthbuild Brownsville ✓ | 9-12 | not reported | 2 |
On the program’s official list Other private schools
Keep looking
- All private schools near Brownsville
- Montessori schools in Texas
- Private elementary schools in Texas
- Private schools with kindergarten in Texas
- Private schools with pre-K in Texas
- Private schools in Cameron County
- Texas Education Freedom Accounts: amount and eligibility
- All Texas Education Freedom Accounts schools
No new TEFA application dates are posted yet. How TEFA works.
Run this school? Update this listing for free.