ChoiceFunded Search

Private schools in Florida

Florida’s FES and FTC scholarships average about $8,000, set by county and grade. Any Florida resident who could attend a K-12 public school. There is no income limit. When money is short, the Tax Credit Scholarship funds renewals first. New awards go first to households at or below 185% of the poverty level or in foster care, then to those up to 400%.

2,784 schools listed
423,621 students (2023-24)
2,414 on the official FES / FTC list

Start here

Florida private schools at a glance

Counties with a private school
68 of 67
Town pages
181
Most private schools
Miami (279), Orlando (162) and Jacksonville (141)
Typical school
88 students, 10 per teacher
Smallest and largest
30a Learning Academy, 10 students; Career Online High School, 6,353 students
Co-ed or single-sex
13 all-girls and 18 all-boys
Association members
436, most often the National Catholic Educational Association
To a 4-year college
50% of graduates at the typical high school (694 reporting)
Programs
134 Montessori, 199 special education
Public charter schools
740, tuition-free and not counted here
Charter schools in Florida

Where these facts come from

What Florida pays

About $8,000 on average, set by county and gradeFor 2026-27 the table runs from $7,463 (grades 9-12, lowest county) to $12,217 (grades K-3, Monroe County). Students with disabilities average about $10,000 under FES-UA.

Figures read from each program’s official pages, October 8, 2026. Sources and how to apply

Step Up For Students, the nonprofit that runs most of Florida’s scholarships, reported in April 2026 that more than 525,000 students were funded across the state’s K-12 scholarship programs in 2025-26 and that 2026-27 applications reached 500,000 on March 30, 2026. The Florida Department of Education’s own pages block automated reading, so we have not checked these against a state count.

Worth knowing: The amount depends on the county you live in, not the county the school is in, and it is reset in each state budget.

What share of Florida private schools are on the list, next to other states

Charter schools, private schools and school choice in Florida, next to other states

By city

Each count: schools in the town or within 6 miles (12 for small towns).

Ranked lists, each on one stated measure: Top private schools in Miami, Top private schools in Orlando, Top private schools in Jacksonville, Top private schools in Tampa

By county

The largest private schools in Florida

SchoolCityGradesStudentsPer teacherAffiliation
Career Online High SchoolPompano Beach9-126,353not reportedNonsectarian
American Heritage- Broward Campus ✓PlantationPreK-122,97710.7Nonsectarian
Individual Education Plan AcademyKissimmeeK-122,5709.8Other religious
Gulliver Preparatory SchoolPinecrestPreK-122,1398.4Nonsectarian
St. Thomas Aquinas High School ✓Fort Lauderdale9-122,09418.4Roman Catholic
North Broward Preparatory School ✓Coconut CreekPreK-122,01711.1Nonsectarian
Lake Highland Preparatory SchoolOrlandoPreK-122,00812.5Nonsectarian
Lincoln-Marti Community Agency ✓MiamiPreK-121,91919.2Nonsectarian
American Heritage School - Boca/Delray Palm Beach ✓Delray BeachPreK-121,84010.2Nonsectarian
Nsu University SchoolFort LauderdalePreK-121,79211.3Nonsectarian
Archbishop McCarthy High School ✓Southwest Ranches9-121,78525.2Roman Catholic
Christopher Columbus High School ✓Miami9-121,74015Roman Catholic, all-boys
The Bolles SchoolJacksonvillePreK-121,70812.1Nonsectarian
Hillcrest Private AcademyPensacolaPreK-121,656not reportedNonsectarian
The King's Academy ✓West Palm BeachPreK-121,63513.7Christian (nondenominational)

What private school costs in Florida

Kindergarten to grade 5
$11,700 middle, $3,069 to $46,200 (277 schools)
Grades 6 to 8
$12,350 middle, $3,669 to $57,300 (281 schools)
Grades 9 to 12
$14,075 middle, $4,269 to $57,300 (202 schools)

Prices read on each school’s own website; mostly larger schools so far, so a guide, not an average.

2026-27 prices only, read on each school’s own website, all private schools in Florida with a verified price for that band. Award from Step Up For Students, 2026-27 scholarship amounts by district (FTC and FES-EO), read October 9, 2026. The award depends on the student's county of residence. We use the row for the school's own county: the grades K to 3 amount for the elementary price, grades 4 to 8 for a middle school price and grades 9 to 12 for the high school price.

Private school tuition in Florida, school by school. Tuition in every state.

Run your own numbers

What would you pay?

FES / FTC pays between $7,463 and $12,217 depending on where you live and other factors. We start with the lower figure. Change it if you know yours. An award can never be more than the school actually charges. This is arithmetic, not a quote.

Put the next FES / FTC window in your calendar

November 15, 2026 Florida FES / FTC: Last day for new 2026-27 Private School and Unique Abilities Scholarship applications.

Add to Google CalendarOfficial source

Every program's dates in one calendar that updates when we confirm new dates: subscribe in Google Calendar · subscribe in Apple Calendar or Outlook · all deadlines

Free. Nothing to sign up for: the calendar file is made in your browser and nothing is sent to us. Dates can change, so confirm on the official site.

Questions parents ask

How much does Florida pay toward private school?

About $8,000 on average, set by county and grade. For 2026-27 the table runs from $7,463 (grades 9-12, lowest county) to $12,217 (grades K-3, Monroe County). Students with disabilities average about $10,000 under FES-UA.

Who can get it?

Any Florida resident who could attend a K-12 public school. There is no income limit. When money is short, the Tax Credit Scholarship funds renewals first. New awards go first to households at or below 185% of the poverty level or in foster care, then to those up to 400%.

Is there still room?

Step Up For Students, the nonprofit that runs most of Florida’s scholarships, reported in April 2026 that more than 525,000 students were funded across the state’s K-12 scholarship programs in 2025-26 and that 2026-27 applications reached 500,000 on March 30, 2026. The Florida Department of Education’s own pages block automated reading, so we have not checked these against a state count.

How do I know a school takes FES / FTC?

Schools marked here are listed as taking the Florida Tax Credit Scholarship (FTC) or the Family Empowerment Scholarship for Educational Options (FES-EO) in the Florida Department of Education’s private school directory. We loaded the directory’s download on October 6, 2026: 2,588 of its 3,607 private schools take one or both. The mark also names FES-UA when the school takes the Unique Abilities scholarship. We match by school name and city, or by phone or street where the names differ. A school without the mark may have joined since, so check the state directory too.

Pick your city How FES / FTC works