Private schools in St. Johns, FL
4 schools in St. Johns itself and 13 more within 6 miles. 12 of them are on the state’s FES / FTC list. Florida’s FES and FTC scholarships average about $8,000, set by county and grade.
St. Johns private schools at a glance
St. Johns has 4 private schools of its own, and 13 more are within 6 miles. They are Ivybrook Academy, Center Academy - Julington Creek, San Juan del Rio Catholic School and River Oak Academy. In St. Johns itself: 1 Catholic, 1 nonsectarian and 2 not reported in the federal survey; 4 teach elementary grades and 2 teach high school. Of the 13 nearby: 1 Catholic, 4 other Christian, 4 nonsectarian, 2 of other faiths and 2 not reported in the federal survey. All of them are co-ed. The typical school has about 41 students and 6.9 per teacher (2023-24 federal survey). 12 are on the official FES / FTC list, 4 of them in St. Johns.
Private schools in St. Johns (4)
Schools that give St. Johns as their address come first, then the 13 more within 6 miles. In each group, schools on the official FES / FTC list are first, then it goes by distance. No school can pay to change its place in this list or its badge.
Affiliation, co-ed or single-sex, association membership and the share of graduates going on to a 4-year college come from the 2023-24 federal Private School Universe survey.
No school in St. Johns matches all of those.
River Oak Academy
6 miNearby, within 6 miles (13)
Schools in other towns within 6 miles of downtown St. Johns.
No nearby school matches all of those.
Reach Academy
6 miPromise Land Academy
3 miOn the state’s official list Other private schools
Are you a school near St. Johns? One sponsor per city, clearly labelled. Sponsor this city
What Florida pays, and what that leaves you
Figures read from each program’s official pages, October 2, 2026. Sources and how to apply
What would you pay?
Enter amounts of $0 or more.
FES / FTC pays between $7,463 and $12,217 depending on where you live and other factors. We start with the lower figure. Change it if you know yours. An award can never be more than the school actually charges. This is arithmetic, not a quote.
Keep looking
- Christian schools in and around St. Johns (5)
- Special education schools in and around St. Johns (4)
- Private high schools in and around St. Johns (9)
- Private elementary schools in and around St. Johns (16)
- Private middle schools in and around St. Johns (14)
- Private schools with kindergarten in and around St. Johns (14)
- Private schools with pre-K in and around St. Johns (10)
- All schools in St. Johns County
- All schools in Duval County
- All schools in Clay County
- All schools in Saint Johns County
- Private schools in Orange Park (6 mi)
- Private schools in Green Cove Springs (11 mi)
- Private schools in Jacksonville (15 mi)
- Private schools in Middleburg (17 mi)
- Private schools in Jacksonville Beach (18 mi)
- Private schools in St. Augustine (24 mi)
- Private schools in Starke (31 mi)
- Private schools in Palatka (32 mi)
- Private schools in Fernandina Beach (39 mi)
- Florida Family Empowerment and Tax Credit Scholarships: amount and eligibility
- All Florida Family Empowerment and Tax Credit Scholarships schools
Get one email when applications open
Most programs open once a year, and several ran out of money or seats in 2026. Pick your state (you are looking at St. Johns) and we will email you the day the next window opens, with the official link. That is the only email you get.
One email per application window. No calls, no sharing your details.
Questions parents ask
How many private schools are there in St. Johns?
4 private schools give St. Johns as their address: Ivybrook Academy, Center Academy - Julington Creek, San Juan del Rio Catholic School and River Oak Academy. Counting nearby towns, we list 17: 4 in St. Johns and 13 within 6 miles of downtown. Together they enrolled about 2,101 students in the last federal survey (2023-24). The largest in St. Johns is San Juan del Rio Catholic School with 420 students. The largest within 6 miles is Christ's Church Academy with 551 students.
Which St. Johns private schools take FES / FTC?
12 of the 17 schools on this page are on the state’s official FES / FTC list, 4 of them in St. Johns itself. They are marked with a green check and listed first in each group. Schools marked here are listed as taking the Florida Tax Credit Scholarship (FTC) or the Family Empowerment Scholarship for Educational Options (FES-EO) in the Florida Department of Education’s private school directory. We loaded the directory’s download on October 6, 2026: 2,588 of its 3,607 private schools take one or both. The mark also names FES-UA when the school takes the Unique Abilities scholarship. We match by school name and city, or by phone or street where the names differ. A school without the mark may have joined since, so check the state directory too.
Will FES / FTC cover the whole tuition bill?
Sometimes, but do not count on it. Florida’s FES and FTC scholarships average about $8,000, set by county and grade, and schools set their own prices. Ask each school for tuition plus fees, then use the calculator on this page to see what is left for you to pay.