Top private schools near Austin, TX: 5 ranked lists
There is no single best school. These lists rank schools near Austin on measures parents ask about, from federal data, the state’s official TEFA list and tuition we verified on each school’s own website.
We looked at the 91 private schools in Austin or within 6 miles of downtown. Each list below uses one measure, says where it comes from and shows the top 10. A school can rank high on one measure and not appear on another, so read the lists together. We leave out any list with fewer than 5 qualifying schools, and no school can pay to appear or move up.
- Most graduates going on to a 4-year college (14 ranked)
- Smallest classes: fewest students per teacher (41 ranked)
- Largest schools (53 ranked)
- On the official TEFA list (55 ranked)
- Lowest published tuition (11 ranked)
Most graduates going on to a 4-year college
Share of each high school’s graduates who went on to a 4-year college, as the school reported it. Only the 14 high schools that reported a figure are ranked; schools that did not report are left out, not ranked last. 2 reported 100%, so ties are listed by enrollment, largest first.
| # | School | Graduates to a 4-year college | Grades | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Regents School of Austin | 100% | K-12 | 6 mi |
| 2 | Austin Peace Academy | 100% | PreK-12 | 4 mi |
| 3 | Griffin School | 99% | 9-12 | 2 mi |
| 4 | St. Gabriel's Catholic School | 96% | PreK-12 | 7 mi |
| 5 | Brentwood Christian School | 95% | PreK-12 | 8 mi |
| 6 | St. Dominic Savio Catholic High School | 95% | 9-12 | 13 mi |
| 7 | Hyde Park Schools | 94% | PreK-12 | 8 mi |
| 8 | Aesa Prep Academy | 93% | K-12 | 17 mi |
| 9 | Huntington-Surrey High School | 71% | 9-12 | 2 mi |
| 10 | Headwaters School | 70% | K-12 | 2 mi |
Source: 2023-24 federal Private School Universe survey (as each school reported it). Showing 10 of 14 ranked schools.
Smallest classes: fewest students per teacher
Students per full-time-equivalent teacher, lowest first, among the 41 schools with at least 50 students (so very small schools do not fill the list). This ratio is the closest measure of class size in the federal data; actual class sizes can be larger.
| # | School | Students per teacher | Grades | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Fusion Academy Aus: Austin | 3.3 students per teacher | 6-12 | 4 mi |
| 2 | Little Tiger Chinese Immersion School | 3.4 students per teacher | PreK-5 | 2 mi |
| 3 | Ace Academy | 3.9 students per teacher | PreK-8 | under 1 mi |
| 4 | The Magnolia School | 4.3 students per teacher | PreK-8 | 12 mi |
| 5 | The Magellan International School | 4.5 students per teacher | PreK-8 | 5 mi |
| 6 | Griffin School | 5.1 students per teacher | 9-12 | 2 mi |
| 7 | International School of Texas | 5.2 students per teacher | PreK-8 | 13 mi |
| 8 | Austin Jewish Academy | 5.5 students per teacher | K-8 | 4 mi |
| 9 | St. Francis School | 5.7 students per teacher | PreK-8 | 3 mi |
| 10 | Long-View Micro School | 5.9 students per teacher | 2-8 | under 1 mi |
Source: 2023-24 federal Private School Universe survey. Showing 10 of 41 ranked schools.
Largest schools
Kindergarten to grade 12 enrollment each school reported, largest first. Pre-K children are not counted in the federal figure.
| # | School | Students (K-12) | Grades | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Regents School of Austin | 1,073 students | K-12 | 6 mi |
| 2 | St. Gabriel's Catholic School | 873 students | PreK-12 | 7 mi |
| 3 | Hyde Park Schools | 763 students | PreK-12 | 8 mi |
| 4 | Austin Peace Academy | 708 students | PreK-12 | 4 mi |
| 5 | Brentwood Christian School | 647 students | PreK-12 | 8 mi |
| 6 | Holy Family Catholic School | 587 students | PreK-8 | 13 mi |
| 7 | Trinity Episcopal School of Austin | 572 students | PreK-8 | 3 mi |
| 8 | The Magellan International School | 442 students | PreK-8 | 5 mi |
| 9 | Headwaters School | 422 students | K-12 | 2 mi |
| 10 | St. Dominic Savio Catholic High School | 414 students | 9-12 | 13 mi |
Source: 2023-24 federal Private School Universe survey. Showing 10 of 53 ranked schools.
On the official TEFA list
55 schools within 6 miles are on the list the state publishes; these are the 10 closest to downtown Austin. Schools whose list entry covers only pre-K or kindergarten are left out here. Being on the list means the program can pay this school; it says nothing about quality.
| # | School | Distance from downtown | Grades |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Ace Academy | under 1 mi | PreK-8 |
| 2 | Rawson-Saunders School | under 1 mi | not reported |
| 3 | Wilson Hill Academy, LLC (Digital Learning) | 1 mi | not reported |
| 4 | St. Austin Catholic School | 1 mi | PreK-8 |
| 5 | Abby's Learning Center | 1 mi | not reported |
| 6 | Odyssey School | 2 mi | 5-12 |
| 7 | Cathedral School of St. Mary | 2 mi | PreK-8 |
| 8 | Little Tiger Chinese Immersion School | 2 mi | PreK-5 |
| 9 | Paragon Preparatory | 3 mi | PreK-8 |
| 10 | Capitol School of Austin | 3 mi | PreK-5 |
Source: the state’s official TEFA list (dated October 5, 2026). Showing 10 of 55 ranked schools.
Lowest published tuition
We have a verified tuition figure for 11 of the 91 schools near Austin, so a school missing here may cost less. Ranked by the cheapest grade band each school publishes; required fees can be extra.
| # | School | Published yearly tuition | Grades | Distance |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Austin Peace Academy | $8,500 (lowest: K-5) | PreK-12 | 4 mi |
| 2 | Holy Family Catholic School | $9,815 (lowest: K-5), 2026-27 | PreK-8 | 13 mi |
| 3 | Redeemer Lutheran School | $11,750 to $12,150 (lowest: K-5), 2026-27 | PreK-8 | 4 mi |
| 4 | Brentwood Christian School | $12,510 to $14,055 (lowest: K-5), 2026-27 | PreK-12 | 8 mi |
| 5 | St. Francis School | $14,000 to $16,150 (lowest: K-5), 2026-27 | PreK-8 | 3 mi |
| 6 | Regents School of Austin | $14,928 to $23,822 (lowest: K-5), 2026-27 | K-12 | 6 mi |
| 7 | St. Dominic Savio Catholic High School | $15,464, 2026-27 | 9-12 | 13 mi |
| 8 | Hyde Park Schools | $19,390 to $29,740 (lowest: K-5), 2026-27 | PreK-12 | 8 mi |
| 9 | The Magellan International School | $22,500 to $25,150 (lowest: K-5), 2026-27 | PreK-8 | 5 mi |
| 10 | St. Gabriel's Catholic School | $25,910 to $31,530 (lowest: K-5), 2026-27 | PreK-12 | 7 mi |
Source: each school’s own website, checked by ChoiceFunded. Showing 10 of 11 ranked schools.
Questions parents ask
Which is the best private school in Austin?
There is no single best school, and we do not rank schools by opinion or reviews. The right school depends on your child, your faith, your budget and your commute. The lists on this page rank the 91 private schools within 6 miles of Austin on measures parents ask about, each with its source, so you can build a short list and then visit.
Which Austin private high schools send the most graduates to a 4-year college?
2 of the 14 high schools near Austin that reported a figure said 100% of their graduates went on to a 4-year college, among them Regents School of Austin and Austin Peace Academy (2023-24 federal Private School Universe survey). The list on this page shows them largest first.
Can a school pay to appear on these lists or move up?
No. Every list is sorted by the measure it names, and the source is printed under each list. Sponsored boxes elsewhere on the site are labelled and never change these lists.
Where do the figures come from?
Enrollment, students per teacher and college-going come from the 2023-24 Private School Universe survey by the National Center for Education Statistics, as each school reported them. The TEFA list is the one the state publishes (dated October 5, 2026). Tuition figures were read on each school’s own website, and the school’s page links the source.