ChoiceFunded Search

St. Nicholas School

7525 Min Tom Dr, Chattanooga, TN 37421Open, per Google (checked Sep 20, 2026)

Key facts

Tuition
$19,395
Grades
PreK-5
Students (K-12)
106
Students per teacher
4.8
Affiliation
Episcopal
From Chattanooga center
6.3 miles

All school facts and where they come from

Can you use EFS here?

✓ On the official Tennessee Education Freedom Scholarship list
State list
Includes this school
Applying
For 2026-27, renewals opened December 9, 2025 and new applications opened January 13, 2026. The window closed February 6, 2026 at 4 p.m. Central, the department’s applications page and its February 20, 2026 announcement say; its 2026-27 FAQ, dated December 22, 2025 and not updated since, still gives January 30, 2026. Dates for 2027-28 are not posted yet.

Source: the official list, dated August 24, 2026.

What you would pay here

Net cost
Tuition verified for an unstated year; the 2026-27 award is subtracted only from a 2026-27 price. See the school’s tuition page

School facts

Teachers
22
Student body
Coeducational
Boys and girls
94% boys, 6% girls
Setting
City
Member of
National Association of Episcopal Schools
Accreditation, state list
Accredited by Cognia and Southern Association of Independent Schools (SAIS) (Tennessee Category III), per the Tennessee Department of Education approved list of non-public schools, updated September 10, 2026.

Where this comes from. Something wrong? Tell us and we will fix it.

Students and school year

Enrollment over time

145 2019-20 106 2023-24
2019-20 to 2023-24
145 to 106, down 39 (27%)

Students by grade, 2023-24 (pre-K is not in the K-12 count)

54 PK 15 K 15 1 14 2 23 3 19 4 20 5
Largest grade
Grade 3 (23)
Smallest grade
Grade 2 (14)
Average a grade
About 18

The school year

Days in the school year
180
Length of the school day
7 hours
Hours of school a year
about 1,260
Kindergarten
Full day, 5 days a week
Classes, 2023-24
In person
Library or media center
Yes
Year, against Tennessee
Same as the median of the 372 private schools we list
School day, against Tennessee
About the median of 7 hours (373 schools we list)

How it compares

This school 4.8 TN median 8.8
Students per teacher
This school 106 County median 118
Students vs county median
Students per teacher
4.8 here; median 8.8 at 114 TN elementary schools
Size in Hamilton County
Larger than 13 of 28 other schools we list

Student body, 2023-24

White 75% Asian 21% Black 3% Hispanic 2%

Shares of K-12 students by race and ethnicity, as NCES reports them.

St. Nicholas School tuition, and what EFS pays

Grades K to 5
$19,395

Year not stated by the school; payment dates run February 2026 to February 2027. Kindergarten and Primary Divisions (Levels 2 to 7) full tuition $19,395; PK3 $11,960; Early Learning Center $13,980. Tuition includes books, supplies and local field trips.

Tuition from St. Nicholas School's website, checked October 1, 2026.

Award
$7,530 per student for 2026-27

Figures read from each program’s official pages, October 2, 2026. Sources and how to apply

What would you pay at St. Nicholas School?

  • Tuition filled in: the lowest published price we list (grades K to 5).
  • Change them for your child’s grade.
Ask the school
Whether its published tuition is still current; whether it still takes Education Freedom Scholarship for 2026-27; its application deadline. More questions to ask

Tuition at nearby private schools

SchoolPublished tuitionYearMiles
Silverdale Baptist Academy$13,280 to $16,610not stated1.2
Boyd-Buchanan School$12,910 to $16,0602026-274.2

Each figure was read on that school's own website. Ranges run from the lowest to the highest grade band.

Other private schools nearby

SchoolGradesStudentsPer teacherAffiliationMiles
Annoor Academy of Chattanooga ✓On the state list; not in the federal survey<1
Grace Baptist Academy ✓PreK-125258.8Baptist<1
Silverdale Baptist Academy ✓PreK-121,19511.2Baptist1
Parkridge Valley Academy2-125611.2Nonsectarian2
Hickory Valley Christian School ✓PreK-5686.5Christian (nondenominational)2
Orange Grove School ✓On the state list; not in the federal survey3
Beacon Academy ✓On the state list; not in the federal survey3
Boyd-Buchanan School ✓PreK-121,03411Church of Christ4

On the program’s official list Other private schools

No new EFS application dates are posted yet. How EFS works.

Run this school? Update this listing for free. School staff: add the official list badge to your website.

Call the school What you pay