ChoiceFunded Search

The McGillis School

668 S 1300 E, Salt Lake City, UT 84102Open, per Google (checked Sep 20, 2026)

Key facts

Tuition, 2026-27
From $24,640
Grades
K-8
Students (K-12)
395
Students per teacher
7.6
Affiliation
Nonsectarian
From Salt Lake City center
4.3 miles

All school facts and where they come from

Can you use UFA here?

Utah publishes no school list
About the list
How the UFA list works
Applying
Renewals open March 1, new applications April 1, and the window closes May 1.

Source: UFA official source.

What you would pay here

Net cost
UFA’s 2026-27 amount per student is not yet verified word for word, so it is not subtracted. See the school’s tuition page

School facts

Teachers
53
Student body
Coeducational
Boys and girls
53% boys, 47% girls
Setting
City

Where this comes from. Something wrong? Tell us and we will fix it.

Students and school year

Enrollment over time

430 2019-20 386 2021-22 395 2023-24
2019-20 to 2023-24
430 to 395, down 35 (8%)
Path
Dipped to 386 in 2021-22, then recovered part of the way

Students by grade, 2023-24

33 K 38 1 38 2 39 3 45 4 51 5 60 6 50 7 41 8
Largest grade
Grade 6 (60)
Smallest grade
Kindergarten (33)
Average a grade
About 44

The school year

Days in the school year
170
Length of the school day
6 hours 30 minutes
Hours of school a year
about 1,110
Kindergarten
Full day, 5 days a week
Classes, 2023-24
In person
Library or media center
Yes
Year, against Utah
10 days shorter than the 180-day median of 122 schools we list
School day, against Utah
About the median of 6 hours 30 minutes (128 schools we list)

How it compares

This school 7.6 UT median 8.5
Students per teacher
This school 395 County median 76
Students vs county median
Students per teacher
7.6 here; median 8.5 at 43 UT elementary schools
Size in Salt Lake County
Larger than 44 of 47 other schools we list

Student body, 2023-24

White 78% Two or more races 12% Asian 5% Hispanic 4% Black 1%

Shares of K-12 students by race and ethnicity, as NCES reports them.

The McGillis School tuition, and what UFA pays

Grades K to 5, 2026-27
$24,640
Grades 6 to 8, 2026-27
$26,955

Lower school (K-5) $24,640, middle school (6-8) $26,955; lunch and trips are extra.

Tuition from The McGillis School's website, checked October 5, 2026.

Utah Fits All Scholarship Education savings account
Award
Up to $8,000 for private school students
How it varies
Home-based students receive $4,000 (ages 5 to 11) or $6,000 (ages 12 to 18).

Figures read from each program’s official pages, October 2, 2026. Sources and how to apply

What would you pay at The McGillis School?

  • Tuition filled in: the lowest published price we list (grades K to 5, 2026-27).
  • Change them for your child’s grade.
Ask the school
Whether its published 2026-27 tuition is still current; whether it takes Utah Fits All; its application deadline. More questions to ask

Tuition at nearby private schools

SchoolPublished tuitionYearMiles
Rowland Hall$28,950 to $38,7502026-270.5
The Madeleine Choir School$13,9602026-271.9

Each figure was read on that school's own website. Ranges run from the lowest to the highest grade band.

Other private schools nearby

SchoolGradesStudentsPer teacherAffiliationMiles
Our Lady of Lourdes Catholic SchoolK-817411.5Roman Catholic<1
Judge Memorial Catholic High School9-1261514.3Roman Catholic<1
Carmen B Pingree CenterUngraded60not reportedNonsectarian<1
Rowland HallPreK-1291711Nonsectarian<1
Pinyon MontessoriPreK-54not reportedNonsectarian1
Lolie Eccles Early Education CenterPreK-K147Nonsectarian1
University Academy1-128216.7Nonsectarian2
The Madeleine Choir SchoolPreK-835712.4Roman Catholic2

Private schools

No new UFA application dates are posted yet. How UFA works.

Run this school? Update this listing for free.

Call the school What you pay