Top private schools near Atlanta, GA: 5 ranked lists
There is no single best school. These lists rank schools near Atlanta on measures parents ask about, from federal data, the state’s official Promise Scholarship list and tuition we verified on each school’s own website.
We looked at the 86 private schools in Atlanta (at any distance from downtown) or within 6 miles of downtown. Each list below uses one measure, says where it comes from and shows the top 10. A school can rank high on one measure and not appear on another, so read the lists together. We leave out any list with fewer than 5 qualifying schools, and no school can pay to appear or move up.
- Most graduates going on to a 4-year college (33 ranked)
- Smallest classes: fewest students per teacher (55 ranked)
- Largest schools (65 ranked)
- On the official Promise Scholarship list (31 ranked)
- Lowest published tuition (14 ranked)
Most graduates going on to a 4-year college
Share of each high school’s graduates who went on to a 4-year college, as the school reported it. Only the 33 high schools that reported a figure are ranked; schools that did not report are left out, not ranked last. 17 reported 100%, so ties are listed by enrollment, largest first.
| # | School | Graduates to a 4-year college | Grades | From downtown |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | The Lovett School | 100% | K-12 | 7 mi |
| 2 | Atlanta International School | 100% | PreK-12 | 5 mi |
| 3 | The Mount Vernon School | 100% | PreK-12 | 12 mi |
| 4 | Marist School | 100% | 7-12 | 11 mi |
| 5 | St. Pius X Catholic High School | 100% | 9-12 | 10 mi |
| 6 | The Galloway School | 100% | PreK-12 | 8 mi |
| 7 | Atlanta Jewish Academy | 100% | PreK-12 | 10 mi |
| 8 | Sora Schools | 100% | 6-12 | 7 mi |
| 9 | Holy Spirit Preparatory School | 100% | K-12 | 8 mi |
| 10 | Atlanta Girls School | 100% | 6-12 | 6 mi |
Source: 2023-24 federal Private School Universe survey (as each school reported it). Showing 10 of 33 ranked schools.
Smallest classes: fewest students per teacher
Students per full-time-equivalent teacher, lowest first, among the 55 schools with at least 50 students (so very small schools do not fill the list). This ratio is the closest measure of class size in the federal data; actual class sizes can be larger.
| # | School | Students per teacher | Grades | From downtown |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Yeshiva Ohr Yisrael of Atlanta | 3.1 students per teacher | 9-12 | 7 mi |
| 2 | Shallowford Presbyterian School | 3.3 students per teacher | PreK-8 | 10 mi |
| 3 | Yeshivah Ohr Yisrael | 3.4 students per teacher | 9-12 | 7 mi |
| 4 | The Weber School | 3.6 students per teacher | 9-12 | 13 mi |
| 5 | Ben Franklin Academy | 4.7 students per teacher | 9-12 | 6 mi |
| 6 | Springmont School | 4.9 students per teacher | PreK-8 | 10 mi |
| 7 | Midtown International School | 4.9 students per teacher | K-12 | 7 mi |
| 8 | Cumberland Academy of Georgia | 4.9 students per teacher | 2-12 | 12 mi |
| 9 | The Howard School | 5 students per teacher | K-12 | 2 mi |
| 10 | Atlanta Jewish Academy | 5.2 students per teacher | PreK-12 | 10 mi |
Source: 2023-24 federal Private School Universe survey. Showing 10 of 55 ranked schools.
Largest schools
Kindergarten to grade 12 enrollment each school reported, largest first. Pre-K children are not counted in the federal figure.
| # | School | Students (K-12) | Grades | From downtown |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | The Westminster Schools | 1,879 students | K-12 | 6 mi |
| 2 | The Lovett School | 1,627 students | K-12 | 7 mi |
| 3 | Holy Innocents Episcopal School | 1,392 students | PreK-12 | 10 mi |
| 4 | Atlanta International School | 1,238 students | PreK-12 | 5 mi |
| 5 | The Mount Vernon School | 1,170 students | PreK-12 | 12 mi |
| 6 | Marist School | 1,082 students | 7-12 | 11 mi |
| 7 | St. Pius X Catholic High School | 1,054 students | 9-12 | 10 mi |
| 8 | The Galloway School | 753 students | PreK-12 | 8 mi |
| 9 | Christ the King School | 571 students | K-8 | 5 mi |
| 10 | Our Lady of the Assumption Catholic School | 535 students | PreK-8 | 10 mi |
Source: 2023-24 federal Private School Universe survey. Showing 10 of 65 ranked schools.
On the official Promise Scholarship list
31 schools in Atlanta or within 6 miles are on the list the state publishes; these are the 10 closest to downtown Atlanta. Schools whose list entry covers only pre-K or kindergarten are left out here. Being on the list means the program can pay this school; it says nothing about quality.
| # | School | Distance from downtown | Grades |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Peace Preparatory Academy | under 1 mi | PreK-8 |
| 2 | Dar-Un-Noor Atlanta Science Academy | 2 mi | PreK-12 |
| 3 | Cristo Rey Atlanta Jesuit High School | 2 mi | 9-12 |
| 4 | Berean Christian Jr Academy | 3 mi | K-7 |
| 5 | Greater Atlanta Adventist Academy | 3 mi | 9-12 |
| 6 | First Presbyterian Preschool | 3 mi | not reported |
| 7 | Wythe Academy | 3 mi | not reported |
| 8 | St. Nicholas Orthodox Academy | 3 mi | PreK-12 |
| 9 | Montessori in Town | 4 mi | PreK-6 |
| 10 | Imhotep Academy | 4 mi | PreK-8 |
Source: the state’s official Promise Scholarship list (dated April 23, 2026). Showing 10 of 31 ranked schools.
Lowest published tuition
We have a verified tuition figure for 14 of the 86 schools near Atlanta, so a school missing here may cost less. Ranked by the cheapest grade band each school publishes; required fees can be extra.
| # | School | Published yearly tuition | Grades | From downtown |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Imhotep Academy | $14,500 to $14,700 (lowest: K-5), 2026-27 | PreK-8 | 4 mi |
| 2 | Our Lady of the Assumption Catholic School | $14,750 (lowest: K-5), 2026-27 | PreK-8 | 10 mi |
| 3 | Torah Day School of Atlanta | $16,303 to $18,675 (lowest: K-5) | K-8 | 7 mi |
| 4 | St. Pius X Catholic High School | $21,900, 2026-27 | 9-12 | 10 mi |
| 5 | Davis Academy | $25,510 to $35,290 (lowest: K-5), 2026-27 | PreK-8 | 16 mi |
| 6 | The Epstein School | $25,725 to $33,550 (lowest: K-5), 2026-27 | PreK-8 | 12 mi |
| 7 | Marist School | $27,461 (lowest: grades 6-8), 2026-27 | 7-12 | 11 mi |
| 8 | Trinity School | $32,500 to $36,700 (lowest: K-5), 2026-27 | PreK-6 | 8 mi |
| 9 | The Galloway School | $32,600 to $37,400 (lowest: K-5), 2026-27 | PreK-12 | 8 mi |
| 10 | Holy Innocents Episcopal School | $33,580 to $39,440 (lowest: K-5), 2026-27 | PreK-12 | 10 mi |
Source: each school’s own website, checked by ChoiceFunded. Showing 10 of 14 ranked schools.
Questions parents ask
Which is the best private school in Atlanta?
There is no single best school, and we do not rank schools by opinion or reviews. The right school depends on your child, your faith, your budget and your commute. The lists on this page rank the 86 private schools in Atlanta or within 6 miles of downtown on measures parents ask about, each with its source, so you can build a short list and then visit.
Which Atlanta private high schools send the most graduates to a 4-year college?
17 of the 33 high schools near Atlanta that reported a figure said 100% of their graduates went on to a 4-year college, among them The Lovett School, Atlanta International School and The Mount Vernon School (2023-24 federal Private School Universe survey). The list on this page shows them largest first.
Can a school pay to appear on these lists or move up?
No. Every list is sorted by the measure it names, and the source is printed under each list. Sponsored boxes elsewhere on the site are labelled and never change these lists.
Where do the figures come from?
Enrollment, students per teacher and college-going come from the 2023-24 Private School Universe survey by the National Center for Education Statistics, as each school reported them. The Promise Scholarship list is the one the state publishes (dated April 23, 2026). Tuition figures were read on each school’s own website, and the school’s page links the source.