Private schools in Keene, TX
3 schools in Keene itself and 8 more within 12 miles. 9 of them are on the state’s TEFA list. TEFA pays $10,474 per private school student for 2026-27.
Keene private schools at a glance
Keene has 3 private schools of its own, and 8 more are within 12 miles. They are Keene Adventist Elementary School, Sycamore Academy and Chisholm Trail Academy. In Keene itself: 1 other Christian, 1 nonsectarian and 1 not reported in the federal survey; 1 teaches elementary grades and 2 teach high school. Counting the 8 nearby, there are 11 in all: 9 other Christian, 1 nonsectarian and 1 not reported in the federal survey; 9 teach elementary grades and 6 teach high school. 3 report membership in a school association, most often the American Association of Christian Schools (2023-24 federal survey). Of the 5 high schools that reported it, the typical one sends 66% of graduates on to a 4-year college (2023-24 federal survey). The typical school has about 128 students and 10.4 students per teacher (2023-24 federal survey). 9 are on the official TEFA list, 3 of them in Keene.
Private schools in Keene (3)
Schools that give Keene as their address come first, then the 8 more within 12 miles. In each group, schools on the official TEFA list are first, then it goes by distance. No school can pay to change its place in this list or its badge.
Affiliation, co-ed or single-sex, association membership and the share of graduates going on to a 4-year college come from the 2023-24 federal Private School Universe survey.
No school in Keene matches all of those.
Sycamore Academy
under 1 miChisholm Trail Academy
under 1 miNearby, within 12 miles (8)
Schools in other towns within 12 miles of downtown Keene.
No nearby school matches all of those.
On the state’s official list Other private schools
Are you a school near Keene? One sponsor per city, clearly labelled. Sponsor this city
What Texas pays, and what that leaves you
Figures read from each program’s official pages, October 2, 2026. Sources and how to apply
What would you pay?
Enter amounts of $0 or more.
We filled in the standard TEFA amount. Change it if your award letter says something different. An award can never be more than the school actually charges. This is arithmetic, not a quote.
Keep looking
- Christian schools in Keene (9)
- Private high schools in Keene (6)
- Private elementary schools in Keene (9)
- Private middle schools in Keene (8)
- Private schools with pre-K in Keene (7)
- Seventh-day Adventist schools in Keene (4)
- All schools in Johnson County
- Private schools in Burleson (8 mi)
- Private schools in Mansfield (17 mi)
- Private schools in Arlington (24 mi)
- Private schools in Granbury (26 mi)
- Private schools in Fort Worth (27 mi)
- Private schools in Waxahachie (28 mi)
- Private schools in Desoto (30 mi)
- Private schools in North Richland Hills (33 mi)
- Private schools in Colleyville (36 mi)
- Private schools in Weatherford (36 mi)
- Texas Education Freedom Accounts: amount and eligibility
- All Texas Education Freedom Accounts schools
Get one email when applications open
Most programs open once a year, and several ran out of money or seats in 2026. Pick your state (you are looking at Keene) and we will email you the day the next window opens, with the official link. That is the only email you get.
One email per application window. No calls, no sharing your details.
Questions parents ask
How many private schools are there in Keene?
3 private schools give Keene as their address: Keene Adventist Elementary School, Sycamore Academy and Chisholm Trail Academy. Counting nearby towns, we list 11: 3 in Keene and 8 within 12 miles of downtown. Together they enrolled about 1,066 students in the last federal survey (2023-24). The largest in Keene is Sycamore Academy with 178 students. The largest within 12 miles is Holy Cross Christian Academy with 207 students.
Which Keene private schools take TEFA?
9 of the 11 schools on this page are on the state’s official TEFA list, 3 of them in Keene itself. They are marked with a green check and listed first in each group. Schools marked “TEFA school” here appear on the participating-school list the program publishes on its toolkit page (file updated September 28, 2026, with 2,758 entries; about 1,600 of them are pre-K and child-care centres, which we do not add as new listings). We match by school name and city, or by phone or street where the names differ, or by a name that appears only once in the state. A school without the mark may have joined since, so check the official Vendor Finder too.
Will TEFA cover the whole tuition bill?
Sometimes, but do not count on it. TEFA pays $10,474 per private school student for 2026-27, and schools set their own prices. Ask each school for tuition plus fees, then use the calculator on this page to see what is left for you to pay.