ChoiceFunded Search

St. Theresa Catholic School

6500 Durford St., Houston, TX 77007Open, per Google (checked Sep 20, 2026)

Key facts

Tuition
Not published
Grades
PreK-8
Students (K-12)
311
Students per teacher
10.7
Affiliation
Roman Catholic
From Houston center
2.6 miles

All school facts and where they come from

Can you use TEFA here?

✓ On the official Texas Education Freedom Accounts list
State list
Includes this school
Applying
The 2026-27 application window ran February 4 to March 31, 2026: it first closed March 17 and was extended to March 31 (the Comptroller’s home page; its Families page still shows March 17). No 2027-28 dates are posted yet; the state offers an interest list for updates.

Source: the official list, dated October 26, 2026.

What you would pay here

Net cost
Not worked out: no verified 2026-27 tuition yet. Check the school’s website

School facts

Teachers
29
Student body
Coeducational
Diocese
Diocese of Galveston-Houston, TX
Setting
City
Member of
National Catholic Educational Association

Where this comes from. Something wrong? Tell us and we will fix it.

Students and school year

Students by grade, 2023-24 (pre-K is not in the K-12 count)

62 PK 34 K 37 1 35 2 27 3 37 4 31 5 40 6 38 7 32 8
Largest grade
Grade 6 (40)
Smallest grade
Grade 3 (27)
Average a grade
About 35

The school year

Days in the school year
170
Length of the school day
7 hours 30 minutes
Hours of school a year
about 1,280
Kindergarten
Full day, 5 days a week
Classes, 2023-24
In person
Library or media center
Yes
Year, against Texas
6 days shorter than the 176-day median of 1,203 schools we list
School day, against Texas
15 minutes longer than the median of 7 hours 15 minutes (1,252 schools we list)

How it compares

This school 10.7 TX median 8.1
Students per teacher
This school 311 County median 159
Students vs county median
Students per teacher
10.7 here; median 8.1 at 474 TX elementary schools
Size in Harris County
Larger than 123 of 168 other schools we list

Student body, 2023-24

White 56% Hispanic 27% Two or more races 12% Asian 4% Black 1% American Indian 1%

Shares of K-12 students by race and ethnicity, as NCES reports them.

St. Theresa Catholic School tuition, and what TEFA pays

Published tuition
No verified figure yet. Check the school’s website
Nearby schools’ prices
$28,320 to $38,530 a year, published by 2 private schools nearby. School by school
Texas Education Freedom Accounts Education savings account
Award
$10,474 per private school student for 2026-27
How it varies
More for students with disabilities; $2,000 for homeschooled students.

Figures read from each program’s official pages, October 8, 2026. Sources and how to apply

What would you pay at St. Theresa Catholic School?

Ask the school
Its full-year tuition and required fees; whether it still takes Education Freedom Account (TEFA) for 2026-27; its application deadline. More questions to ask

Tuition at nearby private schools

SchoolPublished tuitionYearMiles
St. John's School$32,125 to $38,5302026-272.1
River Oaks Baptist School$28,320 to $32,1452026-272.1

Each figure was read on that school's own website. Ranges run from the lowest to the highest grade band.

Other private schools nearby

SchoolGradesStudentsPer teacherAffiliationMiles
Journey School of Houston ✓1-7103.3Nonsectarian1
The Kipling School ✓K-81207.1Nonsectarian1
Saint Thomas High School ✓9-12not reportednot reportednot reported2
Xavier Educational Academy ✓3-121235.4Nonsectarian2
First Baptist Academy ✓PreK-82737.6Baptist2
St. John's SchoolK-121,4239.3Nonsectarian2
River Oaks Baptist SchoolPreK-879911.6Baptist2
The House at Pooh CornerPreK-K52.5Nonsectarian2

On the program’s official list Other private schools

No new TEFA application dates are posted yet. How TEFA works.

Run this school? Update this listing for free. School staff: add the official list badge to your website.

Call the school What you pay