ChoiceFunded Search

St. Jude School

594 Poplar St., Elyria, OH 44035Open, per Google (checked Sep 20, 2026)

Key facts

Grades
PreK-8
Students (K-12)
513
Students per teacher
14.7
Affiliation
Roman Catholic
From Elyria center
1.0 miles

All school facts and where they come from

Can you use EdChoice here?

✓ On the official Ohio Scholarships (EdChoice, Cleveland, Jon Peterson, Autism) list
State list
Includes this school
Applying
The 2026-27 EdChoice application period runs February 1, 2026 to June 30, 2027. Applications submitted after October 14, 2026 get a prorated award, so apply by October 14 for the full amount. The school submits the application.

Source: the official list, read October 26, 2026.

What you would pay here

Net cost
Not worked out: no verified 2026-27 tuition yet. See the school’s tuition page

School facts

Teachers
36
Student body
Coeducational
Diocese
Diocese of Cleveland, OH
Boys and girls
49% boys, 51% girls
Setting
Suburb
Member of
National Catholic Educational Association

Where this comes from. Something wrong? Tell us and we will fix it.

Students and school year

Enrollment over time

427 2019-20 442 2021-22 513 2023-24
2019-20 to 2023-24
427 to 513, up 86 (20%)
Path
Grew in each survey (442 in 2021-22)

Students by grade, 2023-24 (pre-K is not in the K-12 count)

53 PK 15 TK 55 K 46 1 57 2 57 3 59 4 56 5 59 6 61 7 48 8
Largest grade
Grade 7 (61)
Smallest grade
Transitional kindergarten (15)
Average a grade
About 51

The school year

Days in the school year
169
Length of the school day
6 hours 45 minutes
Hours of school a year
about 1,140
Kindergarten
Full day, 5 days a week
Classes, 2023-24
In person
Library or media center
Yes
Year, against Ohio
6 days shorter than the 175-day median of 868 schools we list
School day, against Ohio
10 minutes longer than the median of 6 hours 35 minutes (876 schools we list)

How it compares

This school 14.7 OH median 12.5
Students per teacher
This school 513 County median 199
Students vs county median
Students per teacher
14.7 here; median 12.5 at 545 OH elementary schools
Size in Lorain County
Largest of the 14 schools we list

Student body, 2023-24

White 69% Hispanic 10% Black 10% Two or more races 8% Asian 2% American Indian under 1%

Shares of K-12 students by race and ethnicity, as NCES reports them.

St. Jude School tuition, and what EdChoice pays

Published tuition
On the school’s own tuition page (found October 11, 2026)
Nearby schools’ prices
$6,566 to $23,500 a year, published by 2 private schools nearby. School by school
Award
$6,166 for grades K-8, $8,408 for grades 9-12
How it varies
Families at or below 450% of the poverty level ($148,500 for a family of four) get the full amount. Above that it is scaled down.

Figures read from each program’s official pages, October 2, 2026. Sources and how to apply

What would you pay at St. Jude School?

Pay rule
Families with verified income at or below 200% of the poverty guidelines do not pay the tuition left after EdChoice; families above that may owe the difference. Schools may still charge fees.
Ask the school
Its full-year tuition and required fees; whether it still takes EdChoice for 2026-27; its application deadline. More questions to ask

Tuition at nearby private schools

SchoolPublished tuitionYearMiles
Lake Ridge Academy$21,000 to $23,5002026-272.4
St. Peter School$6,5662026-273.7

Each figure was read on that school's own website. Ranges run from the lowest to the highest grade band.

Other private schools nearby

SchoolGradesStudentsPer teacherAffiliationMiles
Elyria Catholic ✓9-12not reportednot reportednot reported<1
Rapha Leadership Academy ✓K-5not reportednot reportednot reported<1
St. Mary ✓On the state list; not in the federal survey2
Ea Academy - Elyria ✓On the state list; not in the federal survey2
Lake Ridge Academy ✓K-123716.6Nonsectarian2
St. Peter School ✓PreK-830016.2Roman Catholic4
Open Door Christian Schools ✓PreK-12not reportednot reportednot reported4
First Baptist Christian School ✓PreK-1217811.1Baptist4

On the program’s official list Other private schools

Next EdChoice date: Open now, until June 30, 2027 (2026-27 Traditional EdChoice application period).

Add to Google CalendarOfficial source

Run this school? Update this listing for free. School staff: add the official list badge to your website.

Call the school What you pay