ChoiceFunded What your state pays

Private schools in Elyria, OH

5 schools in Elyria itself and 5 more within 6 miles. 9 of them are on the state’s EdChoice / Cleveland Scholarship list. EdChoice pays $6,166 for grades K-8, $8,408 for grades 9-12.

Elyria private schools at a glance

Elyria has 5 private schools of its own, and 5 more are within 6 miles. In Elyria itself: 1 Catholic, 1 other Christian and 3 not reported in the federal survey; 4 teach elementary grades and 3 teach high school. Of the 5 nearby: 2 Catholic, 2 nonsectarian and 1 not reported in the federal survey. The typical school has about 300 students and 13.9 per teacher (2023-24 federal survey). 9 are on the official EdChoice / Cleveland Scholarship list, 5 of them in Elyria.

3 Catholic
13.9 students per teacher, typical
5 in a school association

Private schools in Elyria (5)

Schools that give Elyria as their address come first, then the 5 more within 6 miles. In each group, schools on the official EdChoice / Cleveland Scholarship list are first, then it goes by distance. No school can pay to change its place in this list or its badge.

Affiliation, co-ed or single-sex, association membership and the share of graduates going on to a 4-year college come from the 2023-24 federal Private School Universe survey.

St. Jude School

under 1 mi
✓ Ohio Scholarships (EdChoice, Cleveland, Jon Peterson, Autism) Grades PreK-8 513 students 14.7 students per teacher Roman Catholic Co-ed

Member of the National Catholic Educational Association

594 Poplar St., Elyria, OH 44035

Nearby, within 6 miles (5)

Schools in other towns within 6 miles of downtown Elyria.

✓ Ohio Scholarships (EdChoice, Jon Peterson) Grades PreK-8 300 students 16.2 students per teacher Roman Catholic Co-ed

Member of the National Catholic Educational Association

35749 Center Ridge Rd, North Ridgeville, OH 44039

On the state’s official list Other private schools

Are you a school near Elyria? One sponsor per city, clearly labelled. Sponsor this city

Private school tuition near Elyria

We verified published tuition at 2 of these schools so far. Each figure comes from the school’s own website, and we link it on the school’s page. Ask the others for their full-year price.

SchoolPublished tuitionYear
St. Peter School$6,5662026-27
Lake Ridge Academy$21,000 to $23,5002026-27

Ranges run from the lowest to the highest grade band the school publishes. How private school tuition compares by state.

What private school costs across Ohio: every verified price in the state, by city and grade.

What Ohio pays, and what that leaves you

$6,166 for grades K-8, $8,408 for grades 9-12 Families at or below 450% of the poverty level ($148,500 for a family of four) get the full amount. Above that it is scaled down.

Figures read from each program’s official pages, October 2, 2026. Sources and how to apply

What would you pay?

EdChoice pays between $6,166 and $8,408 depending on grade. We start with the lower figure. Change it if you know yours. An award can never be more than the school actually charges. This is arithmetic, not a quote.

Get one email when applications open

Most programs open once a year, and several ran out of money or seats in 2026. Pick your state (you are looking at Elyria) and we will email you the day the next window opens, with the official link. That is the only email you get.

One email per application window. No calls, no sharing your details.

Questions parents ask

How many private schools are there in Elyria?

5 private schools give Elyria as their address: Rapha Leadership Academy, Elyria Catholic, St. Jude School, Open Door Christian Schools and First Baptist Christian School. Counting nearby towns, we list 10: 5 in Elyria and 5 within 6 miles of downtown. Together they enrolled about 1,551 students in the last federal survey (2023-24). The largest in Elyria is St. Jude School with 513 students.

Which Elyria private schools take EdChoice?

9 of the 10 schools on this page are on the state’s official EdChoice / Cleveland Scholarship list, 5 of them in Elyria itself. They are marked with a green check and listed first in each group. Schools marked here are chartered nonpublic schools listed as EdChoice or Cleveland Scholarship providers for 2026-27 in the Ohio Department of Education and Workforce Scholarship Provider Directory. We loaded the directory’s export on October 6, 2026: 672 schools. The mark also names the Jon Peterson Special Needs and Autism scholarships when the school takes them. We match by school name and city, or by phone or street where the names differ. A school without the mark may have joined since, so check the state directory too.

Will EdChoice cover the whole tuition bill?

Sometimes, but do not count on it. EdChoice pays $6,166 for grades K-8, $8,408 for grades 9-12, and schools set their own prices. Ask each school for tuition plus fees, then use the calculator on this page to see what is left for you to pay.

See schools What you pay