ChoiceFunded Search

St. James Catholic School

601 NW 131st St., Miami, FL 33168Open, per Google (checked Sep 20, 2026)

Key facts

Tuition, 2026-27
$9,075
Grades
PreK-8
Students (K-12)
425
Students per teacher
22.4
Affiliation
Roman Catholic
From Miami center
8.3 miles

All school facts and where they come from

Can you use FES / FTC here?

✓ On the official Florida Scholarships (FTC, FES-EO, FES-UA) list
State list
Includes this school
Applying
New families can still apply for 2026-27: the Private School Scholarship (FTC and FES-EO) and the Unique Abilities Scholarship (FES-UA) take new applications until November 15, 2026.

Source: the official list, read October 8, 2026.

What you would pay here

Tuition
$9,075 (K to 5, 2026-27)
Award
about $8,745
Left to pay
about $330, before fees

School facts

Teachers
19
Student body
Coeducational
Diocese
Archdiocese of Miami, FL
Boys and girls
41% boys, 59% girls
Accreditation
FCCAP
Setting
Suburb

Where this comes from. Something wrong? Tell us and we will fix it.

Students and school year

Enrollment over time

457 2019-20 419 2021-22 425 2023-24
2019-20 to 2023-24
457 to 425, down 32 (7%)
Path
Dipped to 419 in 2021-22, then recovered part of the way

Students by grade, 2023-24 (pre-K is not in the K-12 count)

15 PK 48 K 48 1 45 2 52 3 45 4 48 5 51 6 45 7 43 8
Largest grade
Grade 3 (52)
Smallest grade
Grade 8 (43)
Average a grade
About 47

The school year

Days in the school year
180
Length of the school day
7 hours
Hours of school a year
about 1,260
Kindergarten
Full day, 5 days a week
Classes, 2023-24
In person
Library or media center
Yes
Year, against Florida
Same as the median of the 1,903 private schools we list
School day, against Florida
About the median of 7 hours (1,918 schools we list)

How it compares

This school 22.4 FL median 10.3
Students per teacher
This school 425 County median 70
Students vs county median
Students per teacher
22.4 here; median 10.3 at 773 FL elementary schools
Size in Miami-Dade County
Larger than 409 of 455 other schools we list

Student body, 2023-24

Black 89% Hispanic 10% Asian under 1% Two or more races under 1%

Shares of K-12 students by race and ethnicity, as NCES reports them.

St. James Catholic School tuition, and what FES / FTC pays

Grades K to 5, 2026-27
$9,075
Grades 6 to 8, 2026-27
$9,075
Required fees
$350 a year
By grade
Rates vary within these bands (details below)

Grades 4 to 8 are $9,075 and grades K to 3 are $9,475 a year, including books, materials, insurance, testing and technology; registration is $350.

What is left after the award: worked out at the top of this page.

Tuition from St. James Catholic School's website, checked October 5, 2026.

Award
About $8,000 on average, set by county and grade
How it varies
For 2026-27 the table runs from $7,463 (grades 9-12, lowest county) to $12,217 (grades K-3, Monroe County). Students with disabilities average about $10,000 under FES-UA.

Figures read from each program’s official pages, October 8, 2026. Sources and how to apply

What would you pay at St. James Catholic School?

  • Tuition filled in: the lowest published price we list (K to 5, 2026-27), plus required fees.
  • Award filled in: the 2026-27 FES / FTC award for that grade band.
  • Change them for your child’s grade.
Ask the school
Whether its published 2026-27 tuition is still current; whether it still takes Step Up scholarships (FES and FTC) for 2026-27; its application deadline. More questions to ask

Other private schools nearby

SchoolGradesStudentsPer teacherAffiliationMiles
Miami Union Academy of SDA ✓K-1226513.9Seventh-Day Adventist<1
Calvary Christian Academy North Miami ✓PreK-8212not reportedChristian (nondenominational)<1
Keystone National High School9-12874not reportedChurch of God<1
It Takes A Village Academy of Excellence ✓PreK-12not reportednot reportedNonsectarian<1
Yeshiva Elementary School ✓PreK-86756.9Jewish<1
All God's Children Christian AcademyK-4144.7Christian (nondenominational)1
Cristo Rey Miami High School ✓9-1015313.9Roman Catholic1
Early Step Learning Academy ✓On the state list; not in the federal survey1

On the program’s official list Other private schools

Next FES / FTC date: November 15, 2026 (Last day for new 2026-27 Private School and Unique Abilities Scholarship applications).

Add to Google CalendarOfficial source

Run this school? Update this listing for free. School staff: add the official list badge to your website.

Call the school What you pay