ChoiceFunded Search

Dickens Sanomi Academy

6820 W Sunrise Blvd, Plantation, FL 33313Open, per Google (checked Sep 20, 2026)

Key facts

Grades
K-12
Students (K-12)
186
Students per teacher
8.5
Affiliation
Nonsectarian
From Plantation center
1.6 miles

All school facts and where they come from

Can you use FES / FTC here?

✓ On the official Florida Scholarships (FTC, FES-EO, FES-UA) list
State list
Includes this school
Applying
New families can still apply for 2026-27: the Private School Scholarship (FTC and FES-EO) and the Unique Abilities Scholarship (FES-UA) take new applications until November 15, 2026.

Source: the official list, read October 8, 2026.

What you would pay here

Net cost
Not worked out: no verified 2026-27 tuition yet. See the school’s tuition page

School facts

Teachers
22
Student body
Coeducational
Boys and girls
56% boys, 44% girls
Go on to a 4-year college
0%
Accreditation
COGNIA
Setting
Suburb

Where this comes from. Something wrong? Tell us and we will fix it.

Students and school year

Enrollment over time

81 2019-20 140 2021-22 186 2023-24
2019-20 to 2023-24
81 to 186, up 105 (130%)
Path
Grew in each survey (140 in 2021-22)

Students by grade, 2023-24

14 K 15 1 16 2 16 3 13 4 14 5 14 6 14 7 13 8 12 9 4 10 5 11 5 12 31 UG
Largest grade
Grade 2 and grade 3 (16 each)
Smallest grade
Grade 10 (4)
Across the grades
Classes thin out toward the upper grades
High school grades
Average 7; lower grades 14
Ungraded classes
31 students

The school year

Days in the school year
188
Length of the school day
7 hours
Hours of school a year
about 1,320
Kindergarten
Full day, 5 days a week
Classes, 2023-24
In person and virtual
Library or media center
No
Year, against Florida
8 days longer than the 180-day median of 1,903 schools we list
School day, against Florida
About the median of 7 hours (1,918 schools we list)

How it compares

This school 8.5 FL median 10
Students per teacher
This school 186 County median 85
Students vs county median
Students per teacher
8.5 here; median 10 at 850 FL combined schools
Size in Broward County
Larger than 164 of 226 other schools we list

Student body, 2023-24

Black 87% Hispanic 8% Two or more races 4% White 2% Asian under 1%

Shares of K-12 students by race and ethnicity, as NCES reports them.

Dickens Sanomi Academy tuition, and what FES / FTC pays

Published tuition
On the school’s own tuition page (found October 11, 2026)
Award
About $8,000 on average, set by county and grade
How it varies
For 2026-27 the table runs from $7,463 (grades 9-12, lowest county) to $12,217 (grades K-3, Monroe County). Students with disabilities average about $10,000 under FES-UA.

Figures read from each program’s official pages, October 8, 2026. Sources and how to apply

What would you pay at Dickens Sanomi Academy?

Ask the school
Its full-year tuition and required fees; whether it still takes Step Up scholarships (FES and FTC) for 2026-27; its application deadline. More questions to ask

Other private schools nearby

SchoolGradesStudentsPer teacherAffiliationMiles
Mizrahi Torah Academy ✓K-81106.1Jewish<1
Shorashim Academy ✓K-8180not reportedJewish<1
American High School ✓K-121,111not reportedNonsectarian<1
The Blake School of Plantation ✓PreK-81156Nonsectarian<1
Our Savior Lutheran School ✓PreK-81449.6Lutheran Church (Missouri Synod)1
St. Gregory the Great School ✓PreK-863215.5Roman Catholic1
Super School ✓K382.7Nonsectarian2
Edith Robinson Christian Academy9-121414Baptist2

On the program’s official list Other private schools

Next FES / FTC date: November 15, 2026 (Last day for new 2026-27 Private School and Unique Abilities Scholarship applications).

Add to Google CalendarOfficial source

Run this school? Update this listing for free. School staff: add the official list badge to your website.

Call the school What you pay