ChoiceFunded Search

Washburn Academy

805 Dempsey St., Clearwater, FL 33756Open, per Google (checked Sep 20, 2026)

Key facts

Tuition
Not published
Grades
PreK-12
Students (K-12)
140
Students per teacher
7.8
Affiliation
Nonsectarian
From Clearwater center
1.5 miles

All school facts and where they come from

Can you use FES / FTC here?

✓ On the official Florida Scholarships (FTC, FES-EO, FES-UA) list
State list
Includes this school
Applying
New families can still apply for 2026-27: the Private School Scholarship (FTC and FES-EO) and the Unique Abilities Scholarship (FES-UA) take new applications until November 15, 2026.

Source: the official list, read October 8, 2026.

What you would pay here

Net cost
Not worked out: no verified 2026-27 tuition yet. Check the school’s website

School facts

Teachers
19
Student body
Coeducational
Boys and girls
50% boys, 50% girls
Go on to a 4-year college
25%
Setting
City

Where this comes from. Something wrong? Tell us and we will fix it.

Students and school year

Enrollment over time

128 2019-20 124 2021-22 140 2023-24
2019-20 to 2023-24
128 to 140, up 12 (9%)
Path
Dipped to 124 in 2021-22, then passed its earlier level

Students by grade, 2023-24 (pre-K is not in the K-12 count)

21 PK 13 K 15 1 15 2 16 3 16 4 8 5 9 6 7 7 8 8 7 9 9 10 8 11 9 12
Largest grade
Grade 3 and grade 4 (16 each)
Smallest grade
Grade 7 and grade 9 (7 each)
Across the grades
Classes thin out toward the upper grades
High school grades
Average 8; lower grades 12

The school year

Days in the school year
181
Length of the school day
7 hours 15 minutes
Hours of school a year
about 1,310
Kindergarten
Full day, 5 days a week
Library or media center
Yes
Year, against Florida
1 day longer than the 180-day median of 1,903 schools we list
School day, against Florida
15 minutes longer than the median of 7 hours (1,918 schools we list)

How it compares

This school 7.8 FL median 10
Students per teacher
This school 140 County median 89
Students vs county median
Students per teacher
7.8 here; median 10 at 850 FL combined schools
Size in Pinellas County
Larger than 67 of 108 other schools we list

Student body, 2023-24

White 64% Hispanic 26% Asian 6% Black 2% Pacific Islander under 1%

Shares of K-12 students by race and ethnicity, as NCES reports them.

Washburn Academy tuition, and what FES / FTC pays

Published tuition
No verified figure yet. Check the school’s website
Nearby schools’ prices
$13,411 to $15,450 a year, published by 2 private schools nearby. School by school
Award
About $8,000 on average, set by county and grade
How it varies
For 2026-27 the table runs from $7,463 (grades 9-12, lowest county) to $12,217 (grades K-3, Monroe County). Students with disabilities average about $10,000 under FES-UA.

Figures read from each program’s official pages, October 8, 2026. Sources and how to apply

What would you pay at Washburn Academy?

Ask the school
Its full-year tuition and required fees; whether it still takes Step Up scholarships (FES and FTC) for 2026-27; its application deadline. More questions to ask

Tuition at nearby private schools

SchoolPublished tuitionYearMiles
St. Cecelia Interparochial School$13,4112026-270.4
Clearwater Academy International$15,4502026-270.6

Each figure was read on that school's own website. Ranges run from the lowest to the highest grade band.

Other private schools nearby

SchoolGradesStudentsPer teacherAffiliationMiles
Next Level Nation AcademyK-9165.3Christian (nondenominational)<1
St. Cecelia Interparochial School ✓PreK-839815.3Roman Catholic<1
Clearwater Academy International ✓PreK-122849.4Nonsectarian<1
L.I.F.T Academy ✓K-12not reportednot reportednot reported<1
Learning Independence for TomorrowK-1217010.1Nonsectarian<1
Westcoast School for Human Development ✓K-1211not reportedChristian (nondenominational)1
Every Kids A Genius ✓2-11136.5Nonsectarian1
Community Learning Center Academy ✓K-88910.3Nonsectarian1

On the program’s official list Other private schools

Next FES / FTC date: November 15, 2026 (Last day for new 2026-27 Private School and Unique Abilities Scholarship applications).

Add to Google CalendarOfficial source

Run this school? Update this listing for free. School staff: add the official list badge to your website.

Call the school What you pay