Valley Christian School - the Lewis Center
3919 Southern Blvd, Youngstown, OH 44512Checked against the official list (read October 26, 2026)
Key facts
- Tuition
- Not published
- Grades
- 3-8
- Students (K-12)
- 59
- Students per teacher
- 8
- Affiliation
- Christian (nondenominational)
- From Youngstown center
- 2.7 miles
Can you use EdChoice here?
- State list
- Includes this school
- Applying
- The 2026-27 EdChoice application period runs February 1, 2026 to June 30, 2027. Applications submitted after October 14, 2026 get a prorated award, so apply by October 14 for the full amount. The school submits the application.
Source: the official list, read October 26, 2026.
What you would pay here
- Net cost
- Not worked out: no verified 2026-27 tuition yet
School facts
- Teachers
- 9
- Student body
- Coeducational
- Program
- Special program emphasis
- Boys and girls
- 54% boys, 46% girls
- Setting
- City
- Member of
- Association of Christian Schools International
- School facts, kindergarten to grade 12: U.S. Department of Education, NCES Private School Survey 2023-24, read September 20, 2026.
Where this comes from. Something wrong? Tell us and we will fix it.
Students and school year
Enrollment over time
- 2021-22 to 2023-24
- 59 to 59, no change
Students by grade, 2023-24
- Largest grade
- Grade 7 (13)
- Smallest grade
- Grade 3 and grade 8 (6 each)
- Average a grade
- About 10
The school year
- Days in the school year
- 164
- Length of the school day
- 6 hours 15 minutes
- Hours of school a year
- about 1,030
- Classes, 2023-24
- In person
- Library or media center
- Yes
- Year, against Ohio
- 11 days shorter than the 175-day median of 868 schools we list
- School day, against Ohio
- 20 minutes shorter than the median of 6 hours 35 minutes (876 schools we list)
How it compares
- Students per teacher
- 8 here; median 12.5 at 545 OH elementary schools
- Size in Mahoning County
- Larger than 2 of 14 other schools we list
Student body, 2023-24
Shares of K-12 students by race and ethnicity, as NCES reports them.
- Grades, school year and student body: U.S. Department of Education, NCES Private School Survey 2023-24, read September 20, 2026.
- Earlier counts: NCES Private School Survey 2019-20 and 2021-22, read October 14, 2026.
- Comparisons: the private schools ChoiceFunded lists, as of this page’s last update.
Valley Christian School - the Lewis Center tuition, and what EdChoice pays
- Published tuition
- No verified figure yet
- Nearby schools’ prices
- $6,166 to $6,200 a year, published by 2 private schools nearby. School by school
- Award
- $6,166 for grades K-8, $8,408 for grades 9-12
- How it varies
- Families at or below 450% of the poverty level ($148,500 for a family of four) get the full amount. Above that it is scaled down.
Figures read from each program’s official pages, October 2, 2026. Sources and how to apply
What would you pay at Valley Christian School - the Lewis Center?
Use $0 or more.
- Pay rule
- Families with verified income at or below 200% of the poverty guidelines do not pay the tuition left after EdChoice; families above that may owe the difference. Schools may still charge fees.
- Ask the school
- Its full-year tuition and required fees; whether it still takes EdChoice for 2026-27; its application deadline. More questions to ask
Tuition at nearby private schools
| School | Published tuition | Year | Miles |
|---|---|---|---|
| St. Christine School | $6,166 | 2026-27 | 2.2 |
| St. Charles Elementary School | $6,200 | 2025-26 | 2.6 |
Each figure was read on that school's own website. Ranges run from the lowest to the highest grade band.
Other private schools nearby
| School | Grades | Students | Miles |
|---|---|---|---|
| Islamic Academy of Youngstown ✓ | K-8 | 60 | <1 |
| Cardinal Mooney ✓ | 9-12 | not reported | <1 |
| Potential Development Program School of Autism | K-12 | 231 | 1 |
| Flying Trees Academy ✓ | K-8 | not reported | 2 |
| The Montessori School of the Mahoning Valley ✓ | PreK-8 | 96 | 2 |
| St. Christine School ✓ | PreK-8 | 329 | 2 |
| St. Charles Elementary School | K-8 | 264 | 3 |
| ACLD School ✓ | 1-8 | 60 | 3 |
On the program’s official list Other private schools
Next EdChoice date: Open now, until June 30, 2027 (2026-27 Traditional EdChoice application period).
Run this school? Update this listing for free. School staff: add the official list badge to your website.