St. Clare of Assisi Catholic School
3131 El Dorado Blvd, Houston, TX 77059Open, per Google (checked Sep 20, 2026)
Key facts
- Tuition
- On the school’s website
- Grades
- PreK-8
- Students (K-12)
- 101
- Students per teacher
- 7.2
- Affiliation
- Roman Catholic
- From Houston center
- 21.0 miles
Can you use TEFA here?
✓ On the official Texas Education Freedom Accounts list
- State list
- Includes this school
- Applying
- The 2026-27 application window ran February 4 to March 31, 2026: it first closed March 17 and was extended to March 31 (the Comptroller’s home page; its Families page still shows March 17). No 2027-28 dates are posted yet; the state offers an interest list for updates.
Source: the official list, dated October 26, 2026.
What you would pay here
- Net cost
- Not worked out: no verified 2026-27 tuition yet. See the school’s tuition page
School facts
- Teachers
- 14
- Student body
- Coeducational
- Diocese
- Diocese of Galveston-Houston, TX
- Boys and girls
- 44% boys, 56% girls
- Setting
- City
- School facts, kindergarten to grade 12: U.S. Department of Education, NCES Private School Survey 2023-24, read September 20, 2026.
Where this comes from. Something wrong? Tell us and we will fix it.
Students and school year
Enrollment over time
- 2019-20 to 2023-24
- 143 to 101, down 42 (29%)
Students by grade, 2023-24 (pre-K is not in the K-12 count)
- Largest grade
- Grade 1 (17)
- Smallest grade
- Grade 5 (6)
- Average a grade
- About 11
The school year
- Days in the school year
- 180
- Length of the school day
- 7 hours 15 minutes
- Hours of school a year
- about 1,310
- Kindergarten
- Full day, 5 days a week
- Library or media center
- Yes
- Year, against Texas
- 4 days longer than the 176-day median of 1,203 schools we list
- School day, against Texas
- About the median of 7 hours 15 minutes (1,252 schools we list)
How it compares
- Students per teacher
- 7.2 here; median 8.1 at 474 TX elementary schools
- Size in Harris County
- Larger than 58 of 168 other schools we list
Student body, 2023-24
Shares of K-12 students by race and ethnicity, as NCES reports them.
- Grades, school year and student body: U.S. Department of Education, NCES Private School Survey 2023-24, read September 20, 2026.
- Earlier counts: NCES Private School Survey 2019-20 and 2021-22, read October 14, 2026.
- Comparisons: the private schools ChoiceFunded lists, as of this page’s last update.
St. Clare of Assisi Catholic School tuition, and what TEFA pays
- Published tuition
- On the school’s own tuition page (found October 11, 2026)
Texas Education Freedom Accounts Education savings account
- Award
- $10,474 per private school student for 2026-27
- How it varies
- More for students with disabilities; $2,000 for homeschooled students.
Figures read from each program’s official pages, October 8, 2026. Sources and how to apply
What would you pay at St. Clare of Assisi Catholic School?
Use $0 or more.
Tuition and fees TEFA pays You pay per year Spread over 10 months
- Ask the school
- Its full-year tuition and required fees; whether it still takes Education Freedom Account (TEFA) for 2026-27; its application deadline. More questions to ask
Other private schools nearby
| School | Grades | Students | Miles |
|---|---|---|---|
| Armand Bayou Montessori | PreK-5 | 29 | <1 |
| Montessori School of Downtown Clear Lake ✓ | PreK-5 | not reported | <1 |
| Grace Christian Academy ✓ | PreK-12 | 181 | 2 |
| Bay Area Montessori House | PreK-8 | 46 | 3 |
| Deep Waters Academy (Naums) ✓ | On the state list; not in the federal survey | 3 | |
| Asbury Methodist Day School | PreK-K | 5 | 3 |
| Distinct Abilities | K-3 | 9 | 3 |
| Iman Academy Southeast ✓ | PreK-12 | not reported | 3 |
On the program’s official list Other private schools
Keep looking
- All private schools near Houston
- Catholic schools in Texas
- Private elementary schools in Texas
- Private middle schools in Texas
- Private schools with kindergarten in Texas
- Private schools with pre-K in Texas
- Private schools in Harris County
- Texas Education Freedom Accounts: amount and eligibility
- All Texas Education Freedom Accounts schools
No new TEFA application dates are posted yet. How TEFA works.
Run this school? Update this listing for free. School staff: add the official list badge to your website.