ChoiceFunded Search

School of the Woods

1321 Wirt Rd, Houston, TX 77055Open, per Google (checked Sep 20, 2026)

Key facts

Tuition
Not published
Grades
PreK-12
Students (K-12)
223
Students per teacher
4.5
Affiliation
Nonsectarian
From Houston center
5.8 miles

All school facts and where they come from

Can you use TEFA here?

✓ On the official Texas Education Freedom Accounts list
State list
Includes this school
Applying
The 2026-27 application window ran February 4 to March 31, 2026: it first closed March 17 and was extended to March 31 (the Comptroller’s home page; its Families page still shows March 17). No 2027-28 dates are posted yet; the state offers an interest list for updates.

Source: the official list, dated October 26, 2026.

What you would pay here

Net cost
Not worked out: no verified 2026-27 tuition yet. Check the school’s website

School facts

Teachers
50
Student body
Coeducational
Program
Montessori
Boys and girls
57% boys, 43% girls
Go on to a 4-year college
100%
Setting
Suburb
Member of
American Montessori Society

Where this comes from. Something wrong? Tell us and we will fix it.

Students and school year

Enrollment over time

522 2021-22 223 2023-24
2021-22 to 2023-24
522 to 223, down 299 (57%)

Students by grade, 2023-24 (pre-K is not in the K-12 count)

35 PK 20 K 22 1 20 2 18 3 20 4 15 5 15 6 15 7 15 8 17 9 17 10 14 11 15 12
Largest grade
Grade 1 (22)
Smallest grade
Grade 11 (14)
Average a grade, high school included
About 17

The school year

Days in the school year
178
Length of the school day
7 hours
Hours of school a year
about 1,250
Kindergarten
Full day and half day offered, 5 days a week
Classes, 2023-24
In person
Library or media center
No
Year, against Texas
2 days longer than the 176-day median of 1,203 schools we list
School day, against Texas
15 minutes shorter than the median of 7 hours 15 minutes (1,252 schools we list)

How it compares

This school 4.5 TX median 8.5
Students per teacher
This school 223 County median 159
Students vs county median
Students per teacher
4.5 here; median 8.5 at 383 TX combined schools
Size in Harris County
Larger than 105 of 168 other schools we list

Student body, 2023-24

White 45% Hispanic 22% Asian 18% Black 9% Two or more races 8%

Shares of K-12 students by race and ethnicity, as NCES reports them.

School of the Woods tuition, and what TEFA pays

Published tuition
No verified figure yet. Check the school’s website
Nearby schools’ prices
$28,000 to $33,875 a year, published by 2 private schools nearby. School by school
Texas Education Freedom Accounts Education savings account
Award
$10,474 per private school student for 2026-27
How it varies
More for students with disabilities; $2,000 for homeschooled students.

Figures read from each program’s official pages, October 8, 2026. Sources and how to apply

What would you pay at School of the Woods?

Ask the school
Its full-year tuition and required fees; whether it still takes Education Freedom Account (TEFA) for 2026-27; its application deadline. More questions to ask

Tuition at nearby private schools

SchoolPublished tuitionYearMiles
The Regis School of the Sacred Heart$29,725 to $33,8752026-270.6
Duchesne Academy of the Sacred Heart$28,000 to $33,6002026-271.0

Each figure was read on that school's own website. Ranges run from the lowest to the highest grade band.

Other private schools nearby

SchoolGradesStudentsPer teacherAffiliationMiles
Our Lady of Walsingham Cathedral High School ✓On the state list; not in the federal survey<1
The Regis School of the Sacred HeartPreK-82577.6Roman Catholic, all-boys<1
St. Mark Lutheran School Houston ✓PreK-8not reportednot reportednot reported<1
Trinity Classical School ✓On the state list; not in the federal survey<1
Duchesne Academy of the Sacred HeartPreK-127138.1Roman Catholic, all-girls1
First Baptist Academy ✓PreK-82737.6Baptist2
Central Christian AcademyPreK-12306Christian (nondenominational)2
The Arbor School ✓PreK-12not reportednot reportednot reported2

On the program’s official list Other private schools

No new TEFA application dates are posted yet. How TEFA works.

Run this school? Update this listing for free. School staff: add the official list badge to your website.

Call the school What you pay