ChoiceFunded Search

School in the Hills, River Place

10819 Ranch Rd 2222, Austin, TX 78730Open, per Google (checked Sep 20, 2026)

Key facts

Grades
PreK-6
Students (K-12)
94
Students per teacher
8.6
Affiliation
Nonsectarian
From Austin center
8.7 miles

All school facts and where they come from

Can you use TEFA here?

✓ On the official Texas Education Freedom Accounts list
State list
Includes this school
Applying
The 2026-27 application window ran February 4 to March 31, 2026: it first closed March 17 and was extended to March 31 (the Comptroller’s home page; its Families page still shows March 17). No 2027-28 dates are posted yet; the state offers an interest list for updates.

Source: the official list, dated October 26, 2026.

What you would pay here

Net cost
Not worked out: no verified 2026-27 tuition yet. See the school’s tuition page

School facts

Teachers
13
Student body
Coeducational
Program
Montessori
Boys and girls
52% boys, 48% girls
Setting
City
Member of
American Montessori Society

Where this comes from. Something wrong? Tell us and we will fix it.

Students and school year

Students by grade, 2023-24 (pre-K is not in the K-12 count)

104 PK 3 TK 25 K 13 1 19 2 12 3 12 4 7 5 3 6
Largest grade
Kindergarten (25)
Smallest grade
Transitional kindergarten and grade 6 (3 each)
Across the grades
Classes thin out toward the upper grades

The school year

Days in the school year
169
Length of the school day
7 hours 30 minutes
Hours of school a year
about 1,270
Kindergarten
Full day, 5 days a week
Classes, 2023-24
In person
Library or media center
Yes
Year, against Texas
7 days shorter than the 176-day median of 1,203 schools we list
School day, against Texas
15 minutes longer than the median of 7 hours 15 minutes (1,252 schools we list)

How it compares

This school 8.6 TX median 8.1
Students per teacher
This school 94 County median 103
Students vs county median
Students per teacher
8.6 here; median 8.1 at 474 TX elementary schools
Size in Travis County
Larger than 26 of 54 other schools we list

Student body, 2023-24

White 59% Asian 26% Hispanic 12% Black 3% Pacific Islander 1%

Shares of K-12 students by race and ethnicity, as NCES reports them.

School in the Hills, River Place tuition, and what TEFA pays

Published tuition
On the school’s own tuition page (found October 11, 2026)
Texas Education Freedom Accounts Education savings account
Award
$10,474 per private school student for 2026-27
How it varies
More for students with disabilities; $2,000 for homeschooled students.

Figures read from each program’s official pages, October 8, 2026. Sources and how to apply

What would you pay at School in the Hills, River Place?

Ask the school
Its full-year tuition and required fees; whether it still takes Education Freedom Account (TEFA) for 2026-27; its application deadline. More questions to ask

Other private schools nearby

SchoolGradesStudentsPer teacherAffiliationMiles
Bridges Academy Austin ✓1-9306.2Nonsectarian3
School in the Hills ✓PreK-K132.4Nonsectarian3
Acton Academy Northwest Austin ✓K-12not reportednot reportednot reported4
The Nest at Anderson Mill ✓PreK-6not reportednot reportednot reported5
Lake Hills Montessori Austin CampusPreK-K3not reportedNonsectarian5
First Foundations Primary ✓On the state list; not in the federal survey5
Lake Travis STEM Academy ✓1-12404.7Nonsectarian5
Texas Sports Academy ✓K-12not reportednot reportednot reported5

On the program’s official list Other private schools

No new TEFA application dates are posted yet. How TEFA works.

Run this school? Update this listing for free. School staff: add the official list badge to your website.

Call the school What you pay