ChoiceFunded Search

Joseph and Florence Mandel Jewish Day School

26500 Shaker Blvd A, Beachwood, OH 44122Open, per Google (checked Sep 20, 2026)

Key facts

Grades
PreK-8
Students (K-12)
216
Students per teacher
8.2
Affiliation
Jewish
From Beachwood center
Under 1 mile

All school facts and where they come from

Can you use EdChoice here?

✓ On the official Ohio Scholarships (EdChoice, Cleveland) list
State list
Includes this school
Applying
The 2026-27 EdChoice application period runs February 1, 2026 to June 30, 2027. Applications submitted after October 14, 2026 get a prorated award, so apply by October 14 for the full amount. The school submits the application.

Source: the official list, read October 26, 2026.

What you would pay here

Net cost
Not worked out: no verified 2026-27 tuition yet. See the school’s tuition page

School facts

Teachers
29
Student body
Coeducational
Boys and girls
47% boys, 53% girls
Setting
Suburb

Where this comes from. Something wrong? Tell us and we will fix it.

Students and school year

Enrollment over time

243 2019-20 240 2021-22 216 2023-24
2019-20 to 2023-24
243 to 216, down 27 (11%)
Path
Fell in each survey (240 in 2021-22)

Students by grade, 2023-24 (pre-K is not in the K-12 count)

124 PK 25 K 23 1 22 2 29 3 23 4 23 5 20 6 19 7 32 8
Largest grade
Grade 8 (32)
Smallest grade
Grade 7 (19)
Average a grade
About 24

The school year

Days in the school year
176
Length of the school day
7 hours 15 minutes
Hours of school a year
about 1,280
Kindergarten
Full day, 5 days a week
Classes, 2023-24
In person
Library or media center
Yes
Year, against Ohio
1 day longer than the 175-day median of 868 schools we list
School day, against Ohio
40 minutes longer than the median of 6 hours 35 minutes (876 schools we list)

How it compares

This school 8.2 OH median 12.5
Students per teacher
This school 216 County median 229
Students vs county median
Students per teacher
8.2 here; median 12.5 at 545 OH elementary schools
Size in Cuyahoga County
Larger than 40 of 89 other schools we list

Student body, 2023-24

White 93% Two or more races 6% Hispanic under 1% Black under 1%

Shares of K-12 students by race and ethnicity, as NCES reports them.

Joseph and Florence Mandel Jewish Day School tuition, and what EdChoice pays

Published tuition
On the school’s own tuition page (found October 11, 2026)
Award
$6,166 for grades K-8, $8,408 for grades 9-12
How it varies
Families at or below 450% of the poverty level ($148,500 for a family of four) get the full amount. Above that it is scaled down.

Figures read from each program’s official pages, October 2, 2026. Sources and how to apply

What would you pay at Joseph and Florence Mandel Jewish Day School?

Pay rule
Families with verified income at or below 200% of the poverty guidelines do not pay the tuition left after EdChoice; families above that may owe the difference. Schools may still charge fees.
Ask the school
Its full-year tuition and required fees; whether it still takes EdChoice for 2026-27; its application deadline. More questions to ask

Other private schools nearby

SchoolGradesStudentsPer teacherAffiliationMiles
Fuchs Mizrachi School ✓PreK-124115.3Jewish<1
Yeshiva High School of Cleveland ✓9-12243.4Jewish, all-boys<1
Gross Schechter Day School ✓K-81437Jewish<1
Laurel SchoolPreK-124417.3Nonsectarian, all-girls1
Chaviva High School ✓9-12424.9Jewish, all-girls1
Beatrice J. Stone Yavne ✓7-12not reportednot reportednot reported2
The Reserve School8-12185.3Nonsectarian2
Heritage Classical Academy - Pepper Pike ✓K-12not reportednot reportednot reported2

On the program’s official list Other private schools

Next EdChoice date: Open now, until June 30, 2027 (2026-27 Traditional EdChoice application period).

Add to Google CalendarOfficial source

Run this school? Update this listing for free. School staff: add the official list badge to your website.

Call the school What you pay