ChoiceFunded Search

Good Shepherd School

214 S Garland Ave, Garland, TX 75040Open, per Google (checked Sep 20, 2026)

Key facts

Grades
PreK-8
Students (K-12)
186
Students per teacher
5.8
Affiliation
Roman Catholic
From Garland center
1.0 miles

All school facts and where they come from

Can you use TEFA here?

✓ On the official Texas Education Freedom Accounts list
State list
Includes this school
Applying
The 2026-27 application window ran February 4 to March 31, 2026: it first closed March 17 and was extended to March 31 (the Comptroller’s home page; its Families page still shows March 17). No 2027-28 dates are posted yet; the state offers an interest list for updates.

Source: the official list, dated October 26, 2026.

What you would pay here

Net cost
Not worked out: no verified 2026-27 tuition yet. See the school’s tuition page

School facts

Teachers
35
Student body
Coeducational
Diocese
Diocese of Dallas, TX
Boys and girls
58% boys, 42% girls
Setting
Suburb
Member of
National Catholic Educational Association

Where this comes from. Something wrong? Tell us and we will fix it.

Students and school year

Enrollment over time

186 2021-22 186 2023-24
2021-22 to 2023-24
186 to 186, no change

Students by grade, 2023-24 (pre-K is not in the K-12 count)

28 PK 19 K 24 1 20 2 22 3 19 4 24 5 17 6 17 7 24 8
Largest grade
3 grades (24 each)
Smallest grade
Grade 6 and grade 7 (17 each)
Average a grade
About 21

The school year

Days in the school year
180
Length of the school day
7 hours 45 minutes
Hours of school a year
about 1,400
Kindergarten
Full day, 5 days a week
Classes, 2023-24
In person
Library or media center
Yes
Year, against Texas
4 days longer than the 176-day median of 1,203 schools we list
School day, against Texas
30 minutes longer than the median of 7 hours 15 minutes (1,252 schools we list)

How it compares

This school 5.8 TX median 8.1
Students per teacher
This school 186 County median 134
Students vs county median
Students per teacher
5.8 here; median 8.1 at 474 TX elementary schools
Size in Dallas County
Larger than 63 of 100 other schools we list

Student body, 2023-24

Hispanic 84% White 8% Black 6% Asian 1% Two or more races 1%

Shares of K-12 students by race and ethnicity, as NCES reports them.

Good Shepherd School tuition, and what TEFA pays

Published tuition
On the school’s own tuition page (found October 11, 2026)
Nearby schools’ prices
$6,512 to $14,400 a year, published by 3 private schools nearby. School by school
Texas Education Freedom Accounts Education savings account
Award
$10,474 per private school student for 2026-27
How it varies
More for students with disabilities; $2,000 for homeschooled students.

Figures read from each program’s official pages, October 8, 2026. Sources and how to apply

What would you pay at Good Shepherd School?

Ask the school
Its full-year tuition and required fees; whether it still takes Education Freedom Account (TEFA) for 2026-27; its application deadline. More questions to ask

Tuition at nearby private schools

SchoolPublished tuitionYearMiles
Mount Hebron Christian Academy$6,5122025-261.5
Garland Christian Academy$11,320 to $14,4002025-261.5
St. Joseph Catholic School$10,9002026-272.9

Each figure was read on that school's own website. Ranges run from the lowest to the highest grade band.

Other private schools nearby

SchoolGradesStudentsPer teacherAffiliationMiles
Mount Hebron Christian Academy ✓PreK-2215.5Baptist2
Garland Christian Academy ✓PreK-1236213.5Christian (nondenominational)2
Willow Oaks Micro Academy ✓PreK-2not reportednot reportednot reported3
Central Park Christian Academy ✓PreK-12not reportednot reportednot reported3
Brighter Horizons Academy ✓1-12not reportednot reportednot reported3
Garland Christian Adventist SchoolPreK-7165.3Seventh-Day Adventist3
Lake Cities Montessori SchoolPreK-K44Nonsectarian3
St. Joseph Catholic School ✓PreK-828311.4Roman Catholic3

On the program’s official list Other private schools

No new TEFA application dates are posted yet. How TEFA works.

Run this school? Update this listing for free. School staff: add the official list badge to your website.

Call the school What you pay