ChoiceFunded Search

First Methodist School

455 S Broadway Ave, Bartow, FL 33830Open, per Google (checked Sep 20, 2026)

Key facts

Tuition
Not published
Grades
PreK-8
Students (K-12)
86
Students per teacher
8
Affiliation
Methodist
From Bartow center
1.4 miles

All school facts and where they come from

Can you use FES / FTC here?

✓ On the official Florida Scholarships (FTC, FES-EO, FES-UA) list
State list
Includes this school
Applying
New families can still apply for 2026-27: the Private School Scholarship (FTC and FES-EO) and the Unique Abilities Scholarship (FES-UA) take new applications until November 15, 2026.

Source: the official list, read October 8, 2026.

What you would pay here

Net cost
Not worked out: no verified 2026-27 tuition yet. Check the school’s website

School facts

Teachers
11
Student body
Coeducational
Boys and girls
50% boys, 50% girls
Setting
Town

Where this comes from. Something wrong? Tell us and we will fix it.

Students and school year

Enrollment over time

100 2019-20 75 2021-22 86 2023-24
2019-20 to 2023-24
100 to 86, down 14 (14%)
Path
Dipped to 75 in 2021-22, then recovered part of the way

Students by grade, 2023-24 (pre-K is not in the K-12 count)

80 PK 15 K 16 1 8 2 10 3 14 4 5 5 9 6 3 7 6 8
Largest grade
Grade 1 (16)
Smallest grade
Grade 7 (3)
Across the grades
Classes thin out toward the upper grades

The school year

Days in the school year
180
Length of the school day
6 hours 30 minutes
Hours of school a year
about 1,170
Kindergarten
Full day, 5 days a week
Classes, 2023-24
In person
Library or media center
Yes
Year, against Florida
Same as the median of the 1,903 private schools we list
School day, against Florida
30 minutes shorter than the median of 7 hours (1,918 schools we list)

How it compares

This school 8 FL median 10.3
Students per teacher
This school 86 County median 91
Students vs county median
Students per teacher
8 here; median 10.3 at 773 FL elementary schools
Size in Polk County
Larger than 37 of 77 other schools we list

Student body, 2023-24

White 70% Hispanic 16% Black 8% Two or more races 6%

Shares of K-12 students by race and ethnicity, as NCES reports them.

First Methodist School tuition, and what FES / FTC pays

Published tuition
No verified figure yet. Check the school’s website
Award
About $8,000 on average, set by county and grade
How it varies
For 2026-27 the table runs from $7,463 (grades 9-12, lowest county) to $12,217 (grades K-3, Monroe County). Students with disabilities average about $10,000 under FES-UA.

Figures read from each program’s official pages, October 8, 2026. Sources and how to apply

What would you pay at First Methodist School?

Ask the school
Its full-year tuition and required fees; whether it still takes Step Up scholarships (FES and FTC) for 2026-27; its application deadline. More questions to ask

Other private schools nearby

SchoolGradesStudentsPer teacherAffiliationMiles
Empowered Christian Academy ✓On the state list; not in the federal survey<1
Peace River Christian Academy ✓K-816not reportedChristian (nondenominational)1
Word of Life Christian School ✓K-121058.1Christian (nondenominational)1
Wonderhere Academy ✓1-533not reportedNonsectarian6
Ces Academy ✓On the state list; not in the federal survey7
Family Life HomeschoolK-12189Baptist8
Mulberry Christian Academy ✓PreK-121298Church of God8
Parkway Christian Academy ✓PreK-1238310.8Baptist8

On the program’s official list Other private schools

Next FES / FTC date: November 15, 2026 (Last day for new 2026-27 Private School and Unique Abilities Scholarship applications).

Add to Google CalendarOfficial source

Run this school? Update this listing for free. School staff: add the official list badge to your website.

Call the school What you pay