Browns Early Discovery School
550 W Danieldale Rd, Duncanville, TX 75137Open, per Google (checked Sep 20, 2026)
Key facts
- Tuition
- Not published
- Grades
- PreK-1
- Students (K-12)
- 18
- Students per teacher
- 2.2
- Affiliation
- Nonsectarian
- From Desoto center
- 4.0 miles
Can you use TEFA here?
✓ On the TEFA list for PreK to K
- State list
- Includes this school, for PreK to K only
- Applying
- The 2026-27 application window ran February 4 to March 31, 2026: it first closed March 17 and was extended to March 31 (the Comptroller’s home page; its Families page still shows March 17). No 2027-28 dates are posted yet; the state offers an interest list for updates.
Source: the official list, dated October 26, 2026.
What you would pay here
- Net cost
- Not worked out: no verified 2026-27 tuition yet. Check the school’s website
School facts
- Teachers
- 8
- Student body
- Coeducational
- Program
- Special program emphasis
- Boys and girls
- 50% boys, 50% girls
- Setting
- Suburb
- School facts, kindergarten to grade 12: U.S. Department of Education, NCES Private School Survey 2023-24, read September 20, 2026.
Where this comes from. Something wrong? Tell us and we will fix it.
Students and school year
Enrollment over time
- 2019-20 to 2023-24
- 19 to 18, down 1
- Path
- Peaked at 26 in 2021-22, then fell below where it started
Students by grade, 2023-24 (pre-K is not in the K-12 count)
- Largest grade
- Kindergarten (12)
- Smallest grade
- Grade 1 (6)
- Across the grades
- Classes thin out toward the upper grades
The school year
- Days in the school year
- 189
- Length of the school day
- 7 hours 30 minutes
- Hours of school a year
- about 1,420
- Kindergarten
- Full day, 5 days a week
- Classes, 2023-24
- In person
- Library or media center
- No
- Year, against Texas
- 13 days longer than the 176-day median of 1,203 schools we list
- School day, against Texas
- 15 minutes longer than the median of 7 hours 15 minutes (1,252 schools we list)
How it compares
- Students per teacher
- 2.2 here; median 8.1 at 474 TX elementary schools
- Size in Dallas County
- Larger than 9 of 100 other schools we list
Student body, 2023-24
Shares of K-12 students by race and ethnicity, as NCES reports them.
- Grades, school year and student body: U.S. Department of Education, NCES Private School Survey 2023-24, read September 20, 2026.
- Earlier counts: NCES Private School Survey 2019-20 and 2021-22, read October 14, 2026.
- Comparisons: the private schools ChoiceFunded lists, as of this page’s last update.
Browns Early Discovery School tuition, and what TEFA pays
- Published tuition
- No verified figure yet. Check the school’s website
Texas Education Freedom Accounts Education savings account
- Award
- $10,474 per private school student for 2026-27
- How it varies
- More for students with disabilities; $2,000 for homeschooled students.
Figures read from each program’s official pages, October 8, 2026. Sources and how to apply
What would you pay at Browns Early Discovery School?
Use $0 or more.
Tuition and fees TEFA pays You pay per year Spread over 10 months
- Ask the school
- Its full-year tuition and required fees; whether it still takes Education Freedom Account (TEFA) for 2026-27; its application deadline. More questions to ask
Other private schools nearby
| School | Grades | Students | Miles |
|---|---|---|---|
| First Methodist School ✓ | PreK-K | 4 | 1 |
| Prenda Microschool: the Academy of Potential Duncanville ✓ | On the state list; not in the federal survey | 1 | |
| Southwest Christian Academy ✓ | On the state list; not in the federal survey | 2 | |
| Trinity Christian Preschool ✓ | PreK-12 | not reported | 2 |
| University of Dreams at Iboc ✓ | K-8 | 70 | 2 |
| New Beginners Preparatory ✓ | 9-12 | 350 | 3 |
| Advanced Preparatory International ✓ | 8-12 | 142 | 5 |
| Kingdom Collegiate Academies ✓ | PreK-12 | not reported | 5 |
On the program’s official list Other private schools
No new TEFA application dates are posted yet. How TEFA works.
Run this school? Update this listing for free.