ChoiceFunded What your state pays

Private schools in Reading, PA

12 schools in Reading itself and 6 more within 6 miles. 9 of them are on the state’s OSTC list. Each scholarship organization sets its award; Opportunity Scholarships go up to $8,500, or $15,000 for a student with a disability.

Reading private schools at a glance

Reading has 12 private schools of its own, and 6 more are within 6 miles. In Reading itself: 4 Catholic, 2 other Christian, 5 nonsectarian and 1 not reported in the federal survey; 10 teach elementary grades and 4 teach high school. Counting the 6 nearby, there are 18 in all: 8 Catholic, 2 other Christian, 7 nonsectarian and 1 not reported in the federal survey; 14 teach elementary grades and 6 teach high school. 5 report membership in a school association, most often the National Catholic Educational Association (2023-24 federal survey). Of the 4 high schools that reported it, the typical one sends 10% of graduates on to a 4-year college (2023-24 federal survey). The typical school has about 105 students and 10.5 students per teacher (2023-24 federal survey). 9 are on the official OSTC list, 5 of them in Reading.

8 Catholic
10.5 students per teacher, typical

Private schools in Reading (12)

Schools that give Reading as their address come first, then the 6 more within 6 miles. In each group, schools on the official OSTC list are first, then it goes by distance. No school can pay to change its place in this list or its badge.

Affiliation, co-ed or single-sex, association membership and the share of graduates going on to a 4-year college come from the 2023-24 federal Private School Universe survey.

St. Peter School

under 1 mi
✓ Pennsylvania Opportunity Scholarship Tax Credit (OSTC) Grades K-8 198 students 22 students per teacher Roman Catholic Co-ed

Member of the National Catholic Educational Association

225 S 5th St., Reading, PA 19602

Nearby, within 6 miles (6)

Schools in other towns within 6 miles of downtown Reading.

✓ Pennsylvania Opportunity Scholarship Tax Credit (OSTC) Grades PreK-8 158 students 10.5 students per teacher Roman Catholic Co-ed

Member of the National Catholic Educational Association

440 Holland St., Shillington, PA 19607

On the state’s official list Other private schools

Are you a school near Reading? One sponsor per city, clearly labelled. Sponsor this city

Private school tuition near Reading

We verified published tuition at one of these schools so far. Each figure comes from the school’s own website, and we link it on the school’s page. Ask the others for their full-year price.

SchoolPublished tuitionYear
Berks Catholic High School$10,100not stated

Ranges run from the lowest to the highest grade band the school publishes. How private school tuition compares by state.

What private school costs across Pennsylvania: every verified price in the state, by city and grade.

What Pennsylvania pays, and what that leaves you

Set by each scholarship organization. Opportunity Scholarships go up to $8,500, or $15,000 for a student with a disability EITC has no statewide maximum, and no scholarship may exceed tuition and fees. Students at schools in the economically disadvantaged schools supplement can get up to $2,000 more ($4,000 in secondary school). The state’s September 2026 OSTC guidelines restate the $8,500 and $15,000 maximums. EdChoice reports average awards of $2,613 (EITC) and $2,699 (OSTC) in 2022-23.

Figures read from each program’s official pages, October 2, 2026. Sources and how to apply

What would you pay?

We could not confirm this year’s EITC / OSTC amount, so type in the figure from your award letter. An award can never be more than the school actually charges. This is arithmetic, not a quote.

Get one email when applications open

Most programs open once a year, and several ran out of money or seats in 2026. Pick your state (you are looking at Reading) and we will email you the day the next window opens, with the official link. That is the only email you get.

One email per application window. No calls, no sharing your details.

Questions parents ask

How many private schools are there in Reading?

12 private schools give Reading as their address. Counting nearby towns, we list 18: 12 in Reading and 6 within 6 miles of downtown. Together they enrolled about 2,330 students in the last federal survey (2023-24). The largest in Reading is Berks Catholic High School with 613 students.

Which Reading private schools take EITC / OSTC?

9 of the 18 schools on this page are on the state’s official OSTC list, 5 of them in Reading itself. They are marked with a green check and listed first in each group. Schools marked “OSTC school” here appear on the Department of Education’s list of schools that accept Opportunity Scholarship (OSTC) students in 2026-27: 398 private schools, reported by the schools themselves (the Department does not audit it). Pennsylvania keeps no list for EITC scholarships, so a school without the mark may still take EITC students. Ask the school which scholarship organizations it works with.

Will EITC / OSTC cover the whole tuition bill?

Sometimes, but do not count on it. Each scholarship organization sets its award; Opportunity Scholarships go up to $8,500, or $15,000 for a student with a disability, and schools set their own prices. Ask each school for tuition plus fees, then use the calculator on this page to see what is left for you to pay.

See schools What you pay