ChoiceFunded What your state pays

Private schools in Shawnee, KS

6 schools in Shawnee itself and 31 more within 12 miles. 28 of them are on the state’s TCLISS list. TCLISS pays up to $8,000 per student per year.

Shawnee private schools at a glance

Shawnee has 6 private schools of its own, and 31 more are within 12 miles. In Shawnee itself: 3 Catholic and 3 other Christian; 6 teach elementary grades and 2 teach high school. Counting the 31 nearby, there are 37 in all: 15 Catholic, 8 other Christian, 7 nonsectarian, 1 of other faiths and 6 not reported in the federal survey; 29 teach elementary grades and 9 teach high school; 5 are Montessori. 16 report membership in a school association, most often the National Catholic Educational Association (2023-24 federal survey). Of the 9 high schools that reported it, the typical one sends 75% of graduates on to a 4-year college (2023-24 federal survey). The typical school has about 174 students and 10.4 students per teacher (2023-24 federal survey). 28 are on the official TCLISS list, 6 of them in Shawnee. We verified published tuition at 5 of these schools: the lowest-priced grade runs from $7,050 to $18,725 a year, and the middle figure is $12,100.

15 Catholic
10.4 students per teacher, typical

Private schools in Shawnee (6)

Schools that give Shawnee as their address come first, then the 31 more within 12 miles. In each group, schools on the official TCLISS list are first, then it goes by distance. No school can pay to change its place in this list or its badge.

Affiliation, co-ed or single-sex, association membership and the share of graduates going on to a 4-year college come from the 2023-24 federal Private School Universe survey.

✓ Kansas Tax Credit for Low Income Students Scholarship Grades K-8 394 students 16.9 students per teacher Roman Catholic Co-ed

Member of the National Catholic Educational Association

21801 Johnson Dr, Shawnee, KS 66218

✓ Kansas Tax Credit for Low Income Students Scholarship Grades K-12 550 students 15.5 students per teacher Christian (nondenominational) Co-ed 75% to 4-year college

Member of the Association of Christian Schools International

7055 Silverheel St., Shawnee, KS 66226

✓ Kansas Tax Credit for Low Income Students Scholarship Grades PreK-8 331 students 12.1 students per teacher Roman Catholic Co-ed

Member of the National Catholic Educational Association

12800 W 75th St., Shawnee, KS 66216

Nearby, within 12 miles (31)

Schools in other towns within 12 miles of downtown Shawnee.

✓ Kansas Tax Credit for Low Income Students Scholarship Grades K-8 327 students 7.3 students per teacher Roman Catholic Co-ed

Member of the National Catholic Educational Association

11300 W 103rd St., Overland Park, KS 66214

✓ Kansas Tax Credit for Low Income Students Scholarship Grades 9-12 653 students 14.1 students per teacher Roman Catholic Co-ed 99% to 4-year college

Member of the National Catholic Educational Association

5041 Reinhardt Dr, Shawnee Mission, KS 66205

✓ Kansas Tax Credit for Low Income Students Scholarship Grades PreK-8 570 students 14.8 students per teacher Roman Catholic Co-ed

Member of the National Catholic Educational Association

9510 W 127th St., Overland Park, KS 66213

All 31 nearby schools

SchoolGradesStudentsPer teacherAffiliationMiles
St. Patrick Catholic School ✓not reportednot reportednot reportednot reported7
Mt Olive Lutheran School ✓PreK-8336.9Wisconsin Evangelical Lutheran Synod7
St. Paul Catholic School ✓not reportednot reportednot reportednot reported7
Holy Spirit School ✓K-83277.3Roman Catholic7
St. Thomas Aquinas High School ✓9-1291911.3Roman Catholic7
John Paul II Catholic School ✓PreK-81329.2Roman Catholic8
Overland Christian Schools ✓PreK-1218210.2Christian (nondenominational)8
Our Lady of Unity School ✓K-818213.5Roman Catholic8
Holy Cross Catholic School ✓PreK-81637.2Roman Catholic8
Christ Lutheran School ✓K-815410.4Lutheran Church (Missouri Synod)9
Bethany Lutheran School ✓K-818516.7Lutheran Church (Missouri Synod)9
Kansas City Christian School ✓not reportednot reportednot reportednot reported9
St. Ann Catholic School ✓not reportednot reportednot reportednot reported10
Bishop Miege High School ✓9-1265314.1Roman Catholic10
St. Agnes Catholic Elementary School ✓PreK-832110.9Roman Catholic10
Ascension School ✓PreK-857014.8Roman Catholic10
Christ the King Parish School ✓PreK-818313.3Roman Catholic10
Prince of Peace Catholic School ✓K-850315Roman Catholic10
Holy Name School ✓PreK-811810.4Roman Catholic10
Bishop Ward High School ✓not reportednot reportednot reportednot reported11
Resurrection Catholic School ✓PreK-827111.4Roman Catholic11
Nativity Parish School ✓not reportednot reportednot reportednot reported12
The Phoenix Montessori SchoolPreK-K3not reportedNonsectarian7
Monarch Montessori SchoolPreK-K6not reportedNonsectarian7
Accelerated Schools of Overland Park5-12553.7Nonsectarian10
Horizon Academy1-121083.9Nonsectarian10
Highlawn Montessori SchoolPreK-6965.6Nonsectarian10
Shawnee Mission Christian SchoolK-121549.2Baptist10
Global Montessori AcademyPreK-5418.2Nonsectarian10
Blue Valley Montessori SchoolPreK-K102Nonsectarian10
Hyman Brand Hebrew AcademyK-121744.8Jewish11

On the state’s official list Other private schools

Are you a school near Shawnee? One sponsor per city, clearly labelled. Sponsor this city

Private school tuition near Shawnee

We verified published tuition at 5 of these schools: the lowest-priced grade runs from $7,050 to $18,725 a year, and the middle figure is $12,100. Each figure comes from the school’s own website, and we link it on the school’s page. Ask the others for their full-year price.

SchoolPublished tuitionYear
Shawnee Mission Christian School$7,0502026-27
Christ Lutheran School$9,2002026-27
Maranatha Christian Academy$12,100 to $12,6002026-27
St. Thomas Aquinas High School$15,5002026-27
Accelerated Schools of Overland Park$18,7252026-27

Ranges run from the lowest to the highest grade band the school publishes. How private school tuition compares by state.

What private school costs across Kansas: every verified price in the state, by city and grade.

What Kansas pays, and what that leaves you

Up to $8,000 per student per year Each scholarship organization sets the amount. EdChoice reports an average of $3,065 in 2023-24.

Figures read from each program’s official pages, October 2, 2026. Sources and how to apply

What would you pay?

We could not confirm this year’s TCLISS amount, so type in the figure from your award letter. An award can never be more than the school actually charges. This is arithmetic, not a quote.

Get one email when applications open

Most programs open once a year, and several ran out of money or seats in 2026. Pick your state (you are looking at Shawnee) and we will email you the day the next window opens, with the official link. That is the only email you get.

One email per application window. No calls, no sharing your details.

Questions parents ask

How many private schools are there in Shawnee?

6 private schools give Shawnee as their address: Sacred Heart School, Midland Adventist Academy, Maranatha Christian Academy, Good Shepherd School, Hope Lutheran School and St. Joseph Catholic School. Counting nearby towns, we list 37: 6 in Shawnee and 31 within 12 miles of downtown. Together they enrolled about 7,461 students in the last federal survey (2023-24). The largest in Shawnee is Maranatha Christian Academy with 550 students. The largest within 12 miles is St. Thomas Aquinas High School with 919 students.

How much does private school cost near Shawnee?

We verified published tuition at 5 of these schools: the lowest-priced grade runs from $7,050 to $18,725 a year, and the middle figure is $12,100. Each figure was read on the school’s own website. Required fees can be extra and prices vary by grade, so check the school’s page for your child’s grade.

Which Shawnee private schools take TCLISS?

28 of the 37 schools on this page are on the state’s official TCLISS list, 6 of them in Shawnee itself. They are marked with a green check and listed first in each group. The Kansas State Department of Education publishes a spreadsheet of participating qualified schools (updated March 2026) and a PDF of certified scholarship organizations dated May 12, 2026. Schools marked with the badge here appear on that spreadsheet; we match by school name and city, or by a name that appears only once in the state.

Will TCLISS cover the whole tuition bill?

Sometimes, but do not count on it. TCLISS pays up to $8,000 per student per year, and schools set their own prices. Ask each school for tuition plus fees, then use the calculator on this page to see what is left for you to pay.

See schools What you pay