Private schools in Geauga County, OH
30 schools across Chardon, Chesterland, Gates Mills, Hiram and other towns. About 2,747 students in all (2023-24). 8 on the state’s EdChoice / Cleveland Scholarship list.
| School | Grades | Students |
|---|---|---|
| Notre Dame Elementary School ✓ | PreK-8 | 388 |
| St. Mary Elementary School ✓ | PreK-8 | 164 |
| St. Anselm Elementary School ✓ | PreK-8 | 153 |
| Hawken School ✓ | PreK-12 | 1,101 |
| Agape Christian Academy ✓ | K-12 | not reported |
| Hershey Montessori Farm School ✓ | 7-12 | not reported |
| St. Helen Catholic Elementary School ✓ | PreK-8 | 137 |
| Global Connection Academy ✓ | PreK-12 | not reported |
| Meadow Glow Amish Parochial School | 1-8 | 25 |
| Mumford Road School | Transitional 1st-8 | 22 |
| Troy Parochial School | 1-8 | 21 |
| Stillwell Country School | 1-8 | 36 |
| Scout Ridge School | 1-8 | 34 |
| Country Crossroads School | 1-8 | 41 |
| Barnes Corner | 1-8 | 31 |
| Clearview | 1-8 | 24 |
| Country Corner | 1-8 | 38 |
| Georgia Road | 1-8 | 32 |
| Hickory Grove | 1-8 | 35 |
| Meadow Brook | 1-8 | 53 |
| Parkman Parochial | 1-8 | 40 |
| Parkside | 1-8 | 33 |
| Pleasant Valley | 1-8 | 31 |
| Prairie Lane | 1-8 | 44 |
| School at 15150 Bundysburg Rd | 1-8 | 34 |
| Tare Creek School | 1-8 | 34 |
| Troy Mill Lane School | 1-8 | 30 |
| William R. Gingerich | 1-8 | 53 |
| Laurel School Butler Campus | PreK-5 | 87 |
| Shadow Ridge | 1-7 | 26 |
Geauga County private schools at a glance
- Towns
- 12; the most in Middlefield (14), Burton (3) and Chardon (3)
- Among Ohio counties
- 9th most private schools of 82; 3% of the state’s 1,050
- Typical school
- 35 students (27 reporting)
- Smallest and largest
- Troy Parochial School, 21 students; Hawken School, 1,101 students
- Students per teacher
- 15 typical, 5.5 to 22 across 27 schools
- Association members
- 3, most often the National Catholic Educational Association
- Verified tuition
- Notre Dame Elementary School $7,700
- State program
- Scholarship, $6,166 for grades K-8, $8,408 for grades 9-12
How EdChoice works - Public charter schools
- 1 in the county, tuition-free and not counted here
Charter schools in Ohio
- Catholic4
- Christian, not Catholic21
- Nonsectarian2
- Not in federal survey3
- Pre-K (and up)7
- Elementary (K to 5)29
- Middle (6 to 8)29
- High school (9 to 12)4
- K to 12, one school3
- Under 5019
- 50 to 1494
- 150 to 2992
- 300 to 5991
- 600 or more1
- Geauga County27%
- All of Ohio63%
Where these facts come from
- Grades, size, affiliation, co-ed, membership, college-going: NCES Private School Universe Survey 2023-24, downloaded September 20, 2026.
- Program list: Ohio EdChoice and Cleveland Scholarship schools, list read October 26, 2026.
- Award and rules: Ohio EdChoice Scholarship, official page, read October 2, 2026.
- Tuition for 1 school: each school’s own website, last read October 5, 2026.
- Public charter schools: NCES Common Core of Data, public school directory 2025-26 (preliminary), loaded October 8, 2026.
Cities in and around Geauga County
- Private schools in Burton
- Private schools in Middlefield
- Private schools in Chardon
- Private schools in Orwell
- Private schools in Gates Mills
- Private schools in Painesville
- Private schools in Mentor
- Private schools in Beachwood
- Private schools in Wickliffe
- Private schools in Warren
- Private schools in Shaker Heights
- Private schools in Euclid
- All of Ohio
Neighboring counties
- Trumbull County (15)
- Ashtabula County (11)
- Lake County (17)
- Portage County (7)
- Cuyahoga County (120)
- Summit County (47)
- Mahoning County (17)
- Medina County (8)
Put the next EdChoice window in your calendar
Open now, until June 30, 2027 Ohio EdChoice: 2026-27 Traditional EdChoice application period.
Every program's dates in one calendar that updates when we confirm new dates: subscribe in Google Calendar · subscribe in Apple Calendar or Outlook · all deadlines
Free. Nothing to sign up for: the calendar file is made in your browser and nothing is sent to us. Dates can change, so confirm on the official site.