ChoiceFunded What your state pays

Special education schools in Maine

29 statewide. Schools whose main program is special education.

The 29 largest

SchoolCityGradesStudentsPer teacherAffiliation
Androscoggin Learning & Transition CenterAuburnK-12525.2Nonsectarian
The School at SweetserSaco3-12505Nonsectarian
Mmcfc, Memorial AveLewiston5-124411Nonsectarian
Opportunity Training CenterPresque Isle,K-12429.1Nonsectarian
Mse/MHC-Collaborative SchoolNew Gloucester1-12383.8Nonsectarian
Spurwink-ChelseaChelsea2-12354.4Nonsectarian
Glickman AcademyPortland4-12316.2Nonsectarian
Spurwink-Lewiston/AuburnLewiston4-12285.6Nonsectarian
Aucocisco SchoolCape Elizabeth4-12262.1Nonsectarian
MaplestoneActon7-12244.8Nonsectarian
Kidspeace National Centers of New EnglandEllsworthPreK-11232.9Nonsectarian
Glenn Stratton Learning CenterHinckley3-11224.4Nonsectarian
Stillwater AcademyBangor3-12217Nonsectarian
The Renaissance SchoolAuburn1-82010Nonsectarian
The Glickman Lauder Center of Excellence in AutismPortlandPreK-1220not reportedNonsectarian
Margaret Murphy Center for Children-MainLewiston3-9186Nonsectarian
Morrison CenterScarboroughK-12165.3Nonsectarian
Pathways Merry Meeting CenterBrunswickPreK-121415.6Nonsectarian
Bridge Crossing AcademyBridgton2-7144.7Nonsectarian
NFI North Bridge Crossing AcademyBridgton2-7144.7Nonsectarian
WFS PinelandNew GloucesterPreK123Nonsectarian
Childrens Ctr-Early Interven and Fam SupportAugustaPreK-311not reportedNonsectarian
Kidspeace-MillinocketMillinocketPreK-1294.5Nonsectarian
NFI Sidney River Bend SchoolSidney9-1284Nonsectarian
NFI Buxton - Beacon HouseBuxton9-1273.5Nonsectarian
Connections for Kids - Portland AcademySouth Portland2-666Nonsectarian
NFI-Stetson Ranch SchoolStetson8-1263Nonsectarian, all-boys
Spring Harbor AcademyWestbrook7-115not reportedNonsectarian
WFS WatervilleWatervilleUngraded5not reportedNonsectarian, all-boys

What Maine pays

Tuition paid by your school district, up to a state formula For 2025-26 the state average tuition rates were $13,077.51 (elementary) and $15,055.22 (secondary). Payments to private elementary schools may not exceed the statewide average; secondary rates add an allowance for building costs. The 2026-27 rates are due in December 2026.

Figures read from each program’s official pages, October 2, 2026. Sources and how to apply

Get one email when applications open

Most programs open once a year, and several ran out of money or seats in 2026. Pick your state and we will email you the day the next window opens, with the official link. That is the only email you get.

One email per application window. No calls, no sharing your details.

What your state pays Find schools