ChoiceFunded What your state pays

Private schools in Cumberland County, ME

28 schools across Freeport, Portland, Yarmouth, Bridgton and other towns. About 2,816 students in all (2023-24). 4 on the state’s Town tuitioning list.

Cumberland County private schools at a glance

There are 28 private schools in Cumberland County. By affiliation: 4 Catholic, 3 other Christian, 20 nonsectarian, 1 of other faiths. 25 teach elementary grades and 14 teach high school; 2 are Montessori. All of them are co-ed. 4 report membership in a school association, most often the National Catholic Educational Association (2023-24 federal survey). Of the 8 high schools that reported it, the typical one sends 90% of graduates on to a 4-year college (2023-24 federal survey). The typical school has about 42 students and 6.1 students per teacher (2023-24 federal survey). 4 are on the official Town tuitioning list.

Affiliation, co-ed or single-sex, association membership and the share of graduates going on to a 4-year college come from the 2023-24 federal Private School Universe survey.

SchoolCityGradesStudentsPer teacherAffiliation
Maine Coast Waldorf School ✓FreeportPreK-122276.1Nonsectarian
Cheverus High School ✓Portland9-1234411.1Roman Catholic
Waynflete School ✓PortlandPreK-125206.3Nonsectarian
North Yarmouth Academy ✓YarmouthPreK-123137.3Nonsectarian
Bridge Crossing AcademyBridgton2-7144.7Nonsectarian
NFI North Bridge Crossing AcademyBridgton2-7144.7Nonsectarian
Pathways Merry Meeting CenterBrunswickPreK-121415.6Nonsectarian
St. John's Catholic SchoolBrunswickPreK-813410.3Roman Catholic
Aucocisco SchoolCape Elizabeth4-12262.1Nonsectarian
Friends School of PortlandCumberland ForesidePreK-81285.9Friends
Pine Grove SchoolFalmouthPreK-K72.3Nonsectarian
Winfield Childrens HouseFalmouthPreK-K153.8Nonsectarian
Pine Tree AcademyFreeportPreK-121237.7Seventh-Day Adventist
Royal Academy EducationGrayK-125412.3Nonsectarian
Mse/MHC-Collaborative SchoolNew Gloucester1-12383.8Nonsectarian
WFS PinelandNew GloucesterPreK123Nonsectarian
Breakwater SchoolPortlandPreK-8986.1Nonsectarian
Glickman AcademyPortland4-12316.2Nonsectarian
Levey Day SchoolPortlandK-8445.6Jewish
St. Brigid SchoolPortlandPreK-832313.5Roman Catholic
The Glickman Lauder Center of Excellence in AutismPortlandPreK-1220not reportedNonsectarian
Morrison CenterScarboroughK-12165.3Nonsectarian
L'ecole Francaise Du MaineSouth FreeportPreK-4427.5Nonsectarian
Connections for Kids - Portland AcademySouth Portland2-666Nonsectarian
Greater Portland Christian SchoolSouth PortlandPreK-121367.6Christian (nondenominational)
Holy Cross SchoolSouth PortlandPreK-8954.8Roman Catholic
Spring Harbor AcademyWestbrook7-115not reportedNonsectarian
The Little Dolphin School FoundationWestbrookPreK-1176.5Nonsectarian

On the state’s official list Other private schools

What Maine pays

Tuition paid by your school district, up to a state formula For 2025-26 the state average tuition rates were $13,077.51 (elementary) and $15,055.22 (secondary). Payments to private elementary schools may not exceed the statewide average; secondary rates add an allowance for building costs. The 2026-27 rates are due in December 2026.

Figures read from each program’s official pages, October 2, 2026. Sources and how to apply

Get one email when applications open

Most programs open once a year, and several ran out of money or seats in 2026. Pick your state and we will email you the day the next window opens, with the official link. That is the only email you get.

One email per application window. No calls, no sharing your details.

What your state pays Find schools