Private schools in Wichita, KS
40 schools in Wichita itself. 29 of them are on the state’s TCLISS list. TCLISS pays up to $8,000 per student per year.
Wichita private schools at a glance
Wichita has 40 private schools of its own. In Wichita itself: 16 Catholic, 9 other Christian, 7 nonsectarian, 2 of other faiths and 6 not reported in the federal survey; 28 teach elementary grades and 14 teach high school; 2 are Montessori. The typical school has about 182 students and 11.8 per teacher (2023-24 federal survey). 29 are on the official TCLISS list. We verified published tuition at 5 of these schools: prices run from $7,100 to $18,680 a year, and the middle price is $13,200, using each school’s lowest published rate.
Private schools in Wichita (40)
Schools that give Wichita as their address, at any distance from downtown, come first. Schools on the official TCLISS list are first, then it goes by distance. No school can pay to change its place in this list or its badge.
Affiliation, co-ed or single-sex, association membership and the share of graduates going on to a 4-year college come from the 2023-24 federal Private School Universe survey.
No school in Wichita matches all of those.
Khan Lab School
under 1 miMcAdams Academy
1 miAll 40 schools in Wichita
On the state’s official list Other private schools
Are you a school near Wichita? One sponsor per city, clearly labelled. Sponsor this city
Private school tuition near Wichita
We verified published tuition at 5 of these schools: prices run from $7,100 to $18,680 a year, and the middle price is $13,200, using each school’s lowest published rate. Each figure comes from the school’s own website, and we link it on the school’s page. Ask the others for their full-year price.
| School | Published tuition | Year |
|---|---|---|
| Sunrise Christian Academy | $7,100 to $9,400 | not stated |
| Trinity Academy | $10,750 to $14,975 | 2026-27 |
| Wichita Montessori School | $13,200 | not stated |
| Independent Elementary | $14,160 | 2026-27 |
| The Independent School | $15,290 to $18,680 | 2026-27 |
Ranges run from the lowest to the highest grade band the school publishes. How private school tuition compares by state.
What private school costs across Kansas: every verified price in the state, by city and grade.
What Kansas pays, and what that leaves you
Figures read from each program’s official pages, October 2, 2026. Sources and how to apply
What would you pay?
Enter amounts of $0 or more.
We could not confirm this year’s TCLISS amount, so type in the figure from your award letter. An award can never be more than the school actually charges. This is arithmetic, not a quote.
Keep looking
- Christian schools in and around Wichita (9)
- Catholic schools in and around Wichita (16)
- Private high schools in and around Wichita (14)
- Private elementary schools in and around Wichita (28)
- Private middle schools in and around Wichita (27)
- Private schools with kindergarten in and around Wichita (27)
- Private schools with pre-K in and around Wichita (22)
- All schools in Sedgwick County
- Private schools in Hutchinson (40 mi)
- Kansas Tax Credit for Low Income Students Scholarship Program: amount and eligibility
- All Kansas Tax Credit for Low Income Students Scholarship Program schools
Get one email when applications open
Most programs open once a year, and several ran out of money or seats in 2026. Pick your state (you are looking at Wichita) and we will email you the day the next window opens, with the official link. That is the only email you get.
One email per application window. No calls, no sharing your details.
Questions parents ask
How many private schools are there in Wichita?
40 private schools give Wichita as their address. Together they enrolled about 9,586 students in the last federal survey (2023-24). The largest in Wichita is Bishop Carroll Catholic High School with 1,148 students.
How much does private school cost near Wichita?
We verified published tuition at 5 of these schools: prices run from $7,100 to $18,680 a year, and the middle price is $13,200, using each school’s lowest published rate. Each figure was read on the school’s own website. Required fees can be extra and prices vary by grade, so check the school’s page for your child’s grade.
Which Wichita private schools take TCLISS?
29 of the 40 schools on this page are on the state’s official TCLISS list. They are marked with a green check and listed first. The Kansas State Department of Education publishes a spreadsheet of participating qualified schools (updated March 2026) and a PDF of certified scholarship organizations dated May 12, 2026. Schools marked with the badge here appear on that spreadsheet; we match by school name and city, or by a name that appears only once in the state.
Will TCLISS cover the whole tuition bill?
Sometimes, but do not count on it. TCLISS pays up to $8,000 per student per year, and schools set their own prices. Ask each school for tuition plus fees, then use the calculator on this page to see what is left for you to pay.